We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
From $134 per night
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
1 review
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ok I stayed in this hotel for a Rams game, they lost. First of all this hotel is historic, but NOT run down. If you like crown molding and stained glass this is a very nice hotel, if you like sanitized plain white walls like in a Doubletree Hotel this hotel is not for you. We stayed in a double queen room which was perfect. I like that it had two TVs which were separated so I could be in one room watching one TV and my kids could be in another room on that TV and I couldn't hear what they were watching. Also they had WiFi throughout the entire hotel not just the lobby or common areas. The bar was nice, the cookies and milk before bed was great and the breakfast although different was still great. I will definitely stay at this hotel again, I like that it's close to everything and different.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
20
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and toddler as we drove through on a road trip. The staff was courteous, especially whoever waited on us the morning after (I think she had a Russian accent, and she was just lovely and attentive) when we enjoyed the hot continental breakfast. The price was affordable at $89/night, which I think was for a special going on through hotels.com, and even with the $28 overnight parking, the bill wasn't bad at all. The only cons were little aesthetic things in the room itself, like touch-up paint in the bathroom that didn't match, a bathroom door handle that wasn't screwed in, the toilet paper roll holder not completely screwed in, and the shampoo/conditioner/lotions didn't have any plastic seals. Overall, it was a very nice and pleasant stay. The street seemed safe and quiet; there was no traffic/noise. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We'll stay again if we are ever in the area. :) Oh, and the wi-fi was free, which was convenient. :)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The service is terrific here. My son and I arrived late in the evening, but the staff was patient and very helpful in attending to our needs, including charging our car for the evening. The room was very comfortable and spacious. When we asked where to have breakfast (we woke up late the next day), we were directed to a wonderful local restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay at the Magnolia! Very simple but luxurious accommodations! Everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge. Would definitely stay here again the next time we are in St Louis! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosciusko, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Magnolia Hotel in St. Louis is a fantastic hotel! It's located in downtown St. Louis in close proximity to many restaurants, shops, and a movie theater. It's also very close to a Metro station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We experienced a wonderful stay. Several of the great amenities are the breakfast, evening reception, and the cookies and milk at night. I highly recommend the Magnolia Hotel in St. Louis!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabool, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is classy and beautiful, the room was neat, clean, and comfortable and only 1/2 block from the America's Center - would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in St. Louis!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our Holiday party at the Magnolia and we stayed downtown. The staff were knowledgeable and made sure we knew all the amenities available from the reception at 5:30 to cookies & milk at 8:00 to free internet and then breakfast. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and cozy. The cost was reasonable for all the perks offered. I would recommend for a romantic get-away or a break from the rush of life. It has an by-gone age feel with all the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register, the new St. Louis Magnolia Hotel will reopen in early summer, 2014. Originally built in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss, the hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.