We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $134 per night
Ranked #73 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
1 review
“Treated like royalty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were checking out the location of the hotel. We were greeted promptly and made to feel like royalty. Our room was ready early, so were able to check in. We had a great conversation with the staff for a good 5-10 minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel, this is what customer service should look like. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came here for a conference and this was the hotel I stayed at. I stayed with a couple of other people but there was enough space for all of us. When I got there, the place was clean and the beds were comfortable. It is also in the hear of St. Louis and about 15 minute walk to all attractions. Recommended if you ever come to St. Louis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We got the Magnolia on Hotwire and got a good deal, so I cancelled a reservation at a different hotel. We were excited to stay at this new hotel, we had read about it online and new the area because we stayed at this property when it was the Mayfair. The hotel itself is beautiful, and our room was perfect, I have nothing but good things to say about the room. We were in town for a Cardinal game and were driven down near the ballpark which was a great service to offer.
One thing that was odd was this hotel does not have vending machines or ice machines, we called the front desk and were told someone could bring us ice, which was very nice but it would be smart of them to put ice machines at convenient locations so guests don't have to call and have someone bring it.
On the website this hotel offers nightly drinks, and a cookie buffet. We knew we wouldn't make it back for drinks but thought we'd leave the game in time to get a cab back to the hotel and make it in time for the cookies. The front desk even reminded us of this at check in. 5 hours later when we returned to the hotel, we were informed they had "discontinued" that. I asked if that was just for the evening or permanently, and was told it was permanent. That baffled us, considering this hotel had only been open for a few days!
So we went up to our room to find the Cardinal game on TV to watch the final inning of the game, and of all channels for the hotel not to carry, they didn't get Fox Sports, the channel that carries the games.
An orange juice at the hotel was bar $4.45, which is outrageous to me. Fancy hotel but lacking in many areas, next time we'll go back to areas around the ballpark better suited to us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This historic hotel has been give new life! Fabulous job on the remodel. Everything was beautifully appointed. The hotel staff was knowledgeable and friendly. I stayed in a deluxe king room. It was spacious and comfortable, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on at a hotel. Lots of outlets to charge all of my devices was a nice surprise!
The restaurant was fantastic. I ate there 3 days and never had anything other than fantastic food. The steak sandwich, the prosperity sandwich and the pork steak were all prepared perfectly. Kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Simmoss:
Wow, what a treat to read. Thank you so much for the awesome review of our brand new hotel. I concur with the renovation and the food. Our chef is the bomb and we'll let him know you think so too. Ps - you are a star with us. First review of our gorgeous St. Louis hotel, so from the outstanding team at the hotel, THANK YOU. Hope to see you again very soon.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register, the new St. Louis Magnolia Hotel will reopen in early summer, 2014. Originally built in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss, the hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.