I recently stayed at this hotel with my family. We had a horrible experience. Let me start with the positives - great location, clean room. Moving on... They did not have our reservation when we arrived so it took extra time to check in. Once we finally got to our room, we realized that the remote control for the TV did not work. I called and asked for new batteries - never received them. Next, I noticed that when I checked in, they charged my account $73.30. When I asked at the front desk, I was assured that I was charged $50 for incidentals. I showed her my account and she could not explain why I was charged $73.30, but assured me it would be taken care of. The following morning we attempted to make coffee in our in-room coffee maker. The coffee maker was missing the filter. So we went downstairs to the coffee shop to buy a cup of coffee. It was closed even though the hours posted were 7AM - Noon (this was about 9AM). We tried again a couple of hours later and it was still closed. There was a sign on the gate that stated they would be back in 5 minutes. 20 minutes later and three trips to the front desk to inquire, someone finally came down to help us. Again, I asked about the extra charges on my account and no one had an answer for me. On my way home, I checked my account again, and found I had been charged an ADDITIONAL $23.30 - so $96.60 in total charges for a room that was pre-paid! I tried to call the hotel the next day (Monday) and no one could help me. I left a message with the front desk manager and never received a return call. I left a message on Tuesday with the general manager and again - no return call. I left two messages on Wednesday - finally received a return call, but was not at my desk at the time. I was left a voice mail by the front desk manager in a rude tone stating that she thinks I was inquiring about a $23.39 charge and she could see no other charges, it will be taken care of in a week. Obviously this establishment does not value customer service. I will never stay at this hotel again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
November 14, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Mayfair. I'm happy to hear that, in spite of the few inconveniences you encountered, you still found your accommodations to be comfortable and satisfactory.
I must note that we had tried multiple times to reach you, but the number you left us seemed to have been a work one, and each time we called it went straight to voicemail. When we finally did manage to reach you we were able to resolve the issue of the error on your bill immediately.
Our aim at The Mayfair is always to delight our guests, and we deeply regret any inconvenience you encountered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.