We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a bit noisy for sleeping though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Chestnut Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inn Package
Ranked #27 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a bit noisy for sleeping though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hotel room, good facility, nice breakfast buffet. Friendly staff and there are plenty of them in the lobby. 5 minutes of walk and you are right under the Arch.

My room was at the south-west corner, close to the old court house, at 10+ level. I can always hear the noise due to the traffic (probably from I70), sometimes there were car beeping or motorcycle zooming sound, this makes a bit difficult for sleep at night. I understand the hotel couldn't reduce the traffic, maybe there is some improvement they could do with the windows. One friend of mine stayed in 6th floor and he didn't feel that, so I guess that highly depends on the level and specific room/window you have.

Room Tip: Some room might be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review and recognition of our lobby staff GuangY! Please make sure to let us know of your sensitivity to highway noise the next time you visit. We can try to find a room further away from the Highway at check in. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist you.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    502
    190
    80
    48
See reviews for
317
405
78
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Overland, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Poor experience overall. Our entire floor was dirty, the hallway clearly had not been swept in several days. Our room was very small. One concierge was friendly, the next was rude, you never knew which you would get. The parking jockeys were were very high pressure to valet, which is your only option to park on location. The alternative was to self park, two blocks away in a nasty garage, our SUV was scratched. It felt unsafe at night. And there is still a misc. $50.00 charge pending on out credit card, who know's if they'll try to push that through. No pool, our daughter was very disappointed. Absolutely NOT family friendly. Go across the street to the Drury, a much better hotel at a lower price. Highly disappointed.

Room Tip: Parking is very bad, be prepared for that if you don't $26 valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback JeremyM469. Please contact me directly regarding the pending charge on your credit card, it is customary practice to keep an incidental hold of $50, however I can double check. I will speak to our housekeeping team regarding your concerns cleanliness. Again, please if you would like to contact me for personal assistance call directly to the hotel or send me an e-mail.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was at this hotel got an overnight stay a few weeks ago on business. Im usually at this hotel once a month with no complaints. Beautiful hotel with a great view of the arch. Friendly staff with smooth check in. The cleanliness of the hotel was less desirable. I had to switch rooms(was given upgraded suite) because if the dust in the dresser. New suite was beautiful, clean with a great view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review Samantha! I will make sure to speak to our housekeeping management team regarding the cleanliness concerns you experienced with the room you had been checked into. I hope your travels bring you back to the Hyatt St. Louis this summer!

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I got this hotel stay for a awesome price through priceline so I was worried about it. The rooms were HUGE!! We could have fit 4+ rollaway beds in the room, another in the bathroom and even another in the separate sitting area. We did have 2 dirty towels the first day that the staff apologized a ton for and replaced immediately. Wifi is very pricey at $15 a day and parking is by valet only and it's $27 a day BUT you are welcome to drive up to the valet, unload your car, take everything to your room and then go park. If you park about a block away to the NorthWest of the hotel in the Mansion parking, it's $8 a night during the week and $3 on weekends. Totally worth the nice walk. There are 3 restaurants in this hotel. We ate at one-the Brewhouse- and the service and food was horrific and our bill for 5 was $97. It wouldn't have been worth $20 the food was awful. I ordered an alcoholic beverage that I didn't even get a buzz from and I'm a lightweight. The sound was to loud. It was the Brewhouse...don't waste your time. The other 2 were also very price-Ruth Criss where the cheapest thing is $50 and another that wasn't to terribly priced. Very clean, very nice and my biggest complaint...no pool. Funny that I forgot this until I was asked to rate...the beds were the most uncomfortable beds ever but as you notice, that didn't even phase me because the rest of the stay was so amazing. 2 dirty towels, a stinky lady that brought up the rollaway bed and we still loved it a ton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for 4-Star review Kristine J! I appreciated your detailed feedback on the amenities we have to offer. Our WiFi is priced at $9.95 for a 24 hour access period, we also offer room packages that include internet on Hyatt.com. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

OK, first I dont get St Louis, but thats another story. This hotel is the best in the area and has a great view of the Arch. Staff is very friendly and nice. The Valet/Bell Hop older guy was way off, seemed to wait for a tip when he opened the door. Then if you didnt tip him he would look at his hand as to say pay up. Happened a few times with the same guy. Rooms with the best view can be loud because of the highway between the hotel and the arch. It is centrally located and a quick walk to the baseball stadium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay PacificAndyLa (LA). I am sharing your feedback with our Guest Services manager to make sure we address your concerns with the Bell/Valet team. Please contact me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and the location is the best. Right accross the street from the Arch and most attrations are within 15 min. The hotel staff is very accomodating and attentive. Only negatives were no pool for the grandkids, parking was expensive and long lines for valet parking at peak times and while the rooms are awesome, we found trash on the floor that the cleaning person missed, also, when our room was cleaned, they left a used washcloth in the middle of the room. Overall, would definately stay there again and would recommend this hotel for those not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review Teri J! A more economical parking option is the Mansion House garage which is located adjacent to the hotel and is priced $3 per night on the weekend and $8 per night during the week. I will speak to our housekeeping management team regarding your cleanliness concerns. I hope you can come back to visit us during a Cardinals game!

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our 2-night stay at the Hyatt was in connection with a dance convention/competition my daughter attended, so, we were able to get a double queen room for a group rate & reduced parking. However, even paying full price I felt like the Hyatt was a good hotel for the price and location. The hotel is very conveniently located to the riverfront, Arch, within easy walking distance of several great STL local restaurants & easy access to I-55.

We arrived early and asked if the front desk could let us know when our room was available. They did about 2 hours earlier than normal check-in time and told us we were getting an "extra large" double room. I had no idea what that really meant until our 2nd night - some of the rooms are slightly bigger due to location - you can apparently request one by checking for their availability upon check-in. We ended up staying another night due to a snowstorm preventing us from getting home. Our 2nd room was a little smaller. Overall, the rooms were a standard size, but comfortably fit 3 average size people.

The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was updated with granite & a top counter sink. There was a contemporary feel to the decor. There was a mini-fridge, and decent sized in-room safe (large enough to fit 2 ipads, a small digital camera, headphones, and then some).

We tried the breakfast buffet, which was about $16/pp, at the hotel restaurant. Seemed a little expensive, but, it was our only meal until very late that night (w/all the dance activities going on) so we felt like it would be worth spending on it. Turns out we were right - the buffet had everything -the usual muffins/danishes & cereal, scrambled eggs, pork bacon, turkey sausage, fruits, yogurts & granola, made to order waffles & an omelet bar. We all made several trips and enjoyed the meal. Service was fast & the buffet was clean.

The Starbucks is convenient, but, be careful about the hours of operation. It closed at 7pm while we were there and that turned out to be a real bummer about 9pm when I seriously need a vanilla soy milk latte!

We utilized the valet parking and had no trouble accessing our car or issues with security.

The guest services staff were all very polite and helpful - particularly when we found ourselves in a jam and needing to stay a 2nd night due to the storm. They suggested we would get a cheaper rate booking the hotel through priceline - which we did.

My impression of the hotel was that it would definitely be good for business travelers, or travelers who may not have younger children (those that might prefer having a "free breakfast" or a pool). The lack of a free breakfast and pool are the only reasons why I didn't give the hotel an Excellent rating. Our time while at these dance conventions/competitions is pretty well used up, so we don't get to explore the city. In that regard this hotel served its purpose well. We are fairly familiar with STL and felt like this would be great accommodations for a person or family who isn't planning to veg-out at the pool, but would be spending their time exploring the riverfront, attending a Cardinal game & visiting the beautiful Gateway Arch. I would be happy to stay at this hotel for another convention!

Room Tip: Request an "extra large" room at check-in to get a little more room over the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review! Its great to hear about the details of your stay and the great experience you had at the hotel. If you do book with us again, please check out Hyatt.com as we do have room packages that include breakfast. If there is anything I can do to personally assist you, please contact me directly.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Director of Rooms
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Address: 315 Chestnut Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#18 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#24 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis Riverfront Hotel Experience uncompromising hospitality in a prime setting at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch. Steps from the famous Arch, our exemplary St. Louis hotel blends world-class service with an unparalleled location. With easy access to all of the city’s sights, our downtown hotel in St. Louis is an outstanding choice for every visitor. Select our expansive facilities - the area's premier event spaces - to host impressive business conferences, formal galas or family celebrations. Take in a game at a nearby stadium, catch a Broadway-style show, tempt Lady Luck at a casino, or simply relax in our inviting accommodations. Discover "The Hyatt Touch" at our welcoming St. Louis Missouri hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency St. Louis At The Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Adams Mark Hotel St Louis Missouri
Hyatt Regency Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.