We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free St. Louis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Louis Science Center

Saint Louis Science Center
5050 Oakland Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 289 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 216 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1985, the Saint Louis Science Center is an interactive, hands‐on science and technology museum located in Saint Louis Missouri. With over 700 interactive exhibits, the Science Center is the 5th largest science center and the 24th largest museum of any kind in the United States. Be sure to stop by and explore the wonders of science. Don't forget to pay a visit to Mr. T-Rex, the animatronic dinosaur that has delighted and frightened generations of St. Louis children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Free St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the great things about St. Louis is all the free things here. The Science Center is one of them. There is a fee for parking if you don't park in the park and there are fees for the Omnimax, but the science center is free. It gets very busy with school tours, but that's because there are so many things for kids to do and see here. You can even walk across the highway in a pedestian overpass that links the science center to the old Planetarium--now science museum. Parking there is free.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank slabeaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A great place to explore for the whole family but more specifically for younger children. Everything is hands on and admission is free unless you want to watch special shows and go to their featured exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitelotusflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for kids young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit here. As an electrical engineer, I really appreciated their computer exhibit. It did a great job of teaching the basics of binary numbers and how computers work. Especially for an attraction that's mostly free (some exhibits cost money), this place rocks!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Science Center does a very good job of presenting a variety of exhibits so that every age can find something of interest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank schonstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We expected to spend a few hours at the Science Museum with our 7 year old son before moving on to other St. Louis attractions, but we ended up spending the entire day here. The museum is free ($10 for parking), but there are lots of "must see" add ons that you have to pay for. You can bundle and save if you purchase these items together, so plan your visit before purchasing tickets.

The Lego Imagination Center was perfect for my son (ages 7 and up only, $3 additional, I believe). We didn't really know what this consisted of, but our son LOVES Legos, so we decided to check it out. We were a little concerned when his session started and the leader said that there would only be about 5 minutes of building models and the rest was programming robots. We thought it might be a little over his head, especially since the last member of the group was a no show and he had no partner. However, the instructor was very helpful and the programming wasn't anything too complicated. It was a lot of fun and very hands on. We also enjoyed the Planetarium and the train movie at the Omni Max theatre. If you've never been to an Omni Max, it's like an iMax on steroids. The screen wraps entirely around you and is huge!! It's a must see here. This was such a fun time for the entire family and was a great hands on musuem where we could all play and learn. Will definitely visit again when we are in St. Louis again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BradenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing