We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free St. Louis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Louis Science Center

Saint Louis Science Center
5050 Oakland Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 289 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 147 attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Science Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Founded in 1985, the Saint Louis Science Center is an interactive, hands‐on science and technology museum located in Saint Louis Missouri. With over 700 interactive exhibits, the Science Center is the 5th largest science center and the 24th largest museum of any kind in the United States. Be sure to stop by and explore the wonders of science. Don't forget to pay a visit to Mr. T-Rex, the animatronic dinosaur that has delighted and frightened generations of St. Louis children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Free St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the great things about St. Louis is all the free things here. The Science Center is one of them. There is a fee for parking if you don't park in the park and there are fees for the Omnimax, but the science center is free. It gets very busy with school tours, but that's because there are so many things for kids to do and see here. You can even walk across the highway in a pedestian overpass that links the science center to the old Planetarium--now science museum. Parking there is free.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    124
    60
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A great place to explore for the whole family but more specifically for younger children. Everything is hands on and admission is free unless you want to watch special shows and go to their featured exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for kids young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit here. As an electrical engineer, I really appreciated their computer exhibit. It did a great job of teaching the basics of binary numbers and how computers work. Especially for an attraction that's mostly free (some exhibits cost money), this place rocks!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Science Center does a very good job of presenting a variety of exhibits so that every age can find something of interest.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We expected to spend a few hours at the Science Museum with our 7 year old son before moving on to other St. Louis attractions, but we ended up spending the entire day here. The museum is free ($10 for parking), but there are lots of "must see" add ons that you have to pay for. You can bundle and save if you purchase these items together, so plan your visit before purchasing tickets.

The Lego Imagination Center was perfect for my son (ages 7 and up only, $3 additional, I believe). We didn't really know what this consisted of, but our son LOVES Legos, so we decided to check it out. We were a little concerned when his session started and the leader said that there would only be about 5 minutes of building models and the rest was programming robots. We thought it might be a little over his head, especially since the last member of the group was a no show and he had no partner. However, the instructor was very helpful and the programming wasn't anything too complicated. It was a lot of fun and very hands on. We also enjoyed the Planetarium and the train movie at the Omni Max theatre. If you've never been to an Omni Max, it's like an iMax on steroids. The screen wraps entirely around you and is huge!! It's a must see here. This was such a fun time for the entire family and was a great hands on musuem where we could all play and learn. Will definitely visit again when we are in St. Louis again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Louis Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saint Louis Science Center to your Saves list