We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Westward Expansion

Museum of Westward Expansion
11 N. Fourth Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)
314-655-1700
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 320 things to do in Saint Louis
Activities: Shopping, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum chronicles the hardships encountered during the overland migration of the 19th century, which shaped the American West.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When I was planning to visit the St. Louis Arch, I hadn't even realized that this museum existed right under the structure! It's free, and there is quite a lot to see and learn. Quite a gem!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    26
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crestwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lots of stuff in a small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I took my brother and his family here when they were visiting St. Louis last year. Since they have a very large family, they opted not to go up in the Arch due to the cost. Instead we toured the museum and had a pretty good time. Even the littler kids seemed to have a good time looking at the exhibits. I think they even learned a thing or two!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ok to check out to pass time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Free museum we checked out while in the area to see the Arch. Layout was confusing & we seemed to be walking in circles. It's nice to check out if you're in the area, but I wouldn't make a special trip. The kids enjoyed the talking exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good time filer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

At first you don’t know which direction to go when you walk in. There are things that aren’t label, so you gave to figure out what it is. If you are going to the Arch or just want to walk by this free place, you could spend no more than 30 minutes. But you will need to go through security to visit this place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“2nd worst museum I've ever been to. Waste of time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

First, please note that I am a history buff, so I enjoy museums. Even in the worst ones, I generally find something appealing. Not so with this one. The problem is that some genius got the idea to build the museum exhibits in concentric circles. The whole place is in a circular area. You go around one circle, then, I guess, work your way to the next circle. Sounds intriguing, right? Wrong. There is no logic or internal rhythm. I couldn't tell if I was supposed to work my way inward on the "spokes" or stick to the circle theme. Neither way provided a coherent story. All it was was a bunch of exhibits heaped in circles. Many of the exhibits didn't even have explanatory material. And the clunky, talking mannequins are soooooo 1950! The curator of this so-called museum should be fired, and the whole place razed to the ground so an intelligent person can start from scratch. Seriously, enjoy the arch, enjoy the movies. Skip the silly museum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Westward Expansion also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Westward Expansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Westward Expansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.