We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for children, especially 4 year olds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magic House

The Magic House
516 S Kirkwood Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63122
314 822 8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Children's Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fun-filled attraction offers kids many hands-on learning activities and provides a special area for younger children.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great place for children, especially 4 year olds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boys loved this museum. So much interactive and role play it's perfect for 4 year olds. We didn't see it all...lots to do and so little time. However, what we did experience was fabulous especially the Children's Village. They could have stayed in this area ALL.DAY.LONG. Our children museum pass worked to get us in here for free (passport).

There isn't a coat check, but there is a closet area where you can hang coats but they are not locked up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    123
    24
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Magic House is a great children's museum. I went with my wife, son (5yo), and daughter (2yo). Unlike some, there was something for both kids.

We started at the Magic School Bus' weather center. My son enjoyed shooting air at the clouds and making snowflakes. Although intimidated of her, one of the staff members was even dressed up as Ms. Frizzle.

There were some other really neat exhibits. There was a solve the mystery with CSI-style forensic evidence that the kids were asked to collect and examine to determine who the bad guy was complete with shoe print analysis, black light searches for forgeries, fiber observation under a microscope, etc. That alone could have taken better part of an hour.

There was also a Louis and Clark expedition exhibit that my son liked to explore.

A lot of the exhibits were targeted at slightly older children, but my daughter and I spent some really quality time in the "attic" having tea time with a few other kids. She also really enjoyed the music exhibits.

There is also a small restaurant on site. We didn't eat there, but it looked pretty popular.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the Magic House. It is definitely pricey, but well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was pretty busy when we were there. (It was a weekday during the summer) The kids did have to wait in line for several exhibits, but overall had a wonderful time at the awesome exhibits! Perfect for young kids! Pack a lunch or plan to eat there, because we rushd through each area pretty quickly, & still spent four plus hours there! There are too many exhibits t mention them all, but the kids' favorites were the grocery store, fishing area, auto mechanic area, & reataurant. Would definitely return if in the area again! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a good place for kids to have alot of hands on learning. Most is geared towards kids under 12. Alot of new upgrades, plenty of parking and good rates for entry. I would go again my 3 yr old and 8 yr ols both had alot of fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It had been years since we visited the Magic House since we have no young children. Our granddaughter's visit from out of town gave us an excuse to go again. She had a ball! There's lots to see and do for two-year-olds and for kids of all ages (even kids in our 60s). The place has expanded dramatically since the last time we were there including an outdoor area. Unfortunately, it was too cold for that the day we were there.

We couldn't stay as long as we wanted to because the little one needed a nap and we would go again if we could find a child to take us.

One thing I would recommend is hand sanitizer. Hundreds of little kids touching everything makes TMH a great place to grow germs, especially in the winter time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic House also viewed

 

Been to The Magic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magic House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.