We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What could be better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magic House

The Magic House
516 S Kirkwood Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63122
314 822 8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Children's Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fun-filled attraction offers kids many hands-on learning activities and provides a special area for younger children.
Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“What could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A beanstalk to climb, a water room to explore, a grocery store to shop in, a magnetic ball that makes your hair stand on end...the opportunities for fun are endless at the Magic House. My only recommendation is try to go on a weekday to avoid the crowds, it is much less fun when it is crowded!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    122
    24
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Children's Museum I've Even Seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Really - I live in NY and thought we had a great children's museum, but Magic House is SPECTACULAR. My understanding from my husband, who grew up in STL, is that it's changed and grown significantly, so if you haven't gone in a while, you will be thrilled. The place is huge and there are so many things to see - the exhibits range in sophistication so that there is something for older and younger kids. We went to the Magic House part of the museum last and I wish we'd gone first. It's the best area of the younger kids - there is a whole magical village with lots of different rooms to play in and trees to climb. There is also a massive water table. For older kids, there was a spy adventure that was fabulous, where you follow clues and solve a mystery. Our kids also loved the music exhibits and sports room. I really can't say enough about good things about this place. Our kids keep asking to go back to STL just to return to Magic House!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must have Membership for any St. Louisan with young kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When my daughter and I first moved to the Kirkwood area, I was thrilled to find that not only was the Magic house from my youth still alive and well, but more importantly just like me it had grown a bit. It is no longer just an uber sciencey place for a school field trip, but it is also a fun place to just kill a few hours on a random Tuesday afternoon.

If you can visit more than once or twice a year I suggest you get an annual membership. It pays for itself very quickly, and

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great for kids of all ages, granddaughter loved it. Only 2 so a lot of it was a little too complicated for her but she still enjoyed most of it. Will take her back when older.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Childrens Place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The fun is unbelieveable for kids. Even 2-3 year olds can find something exciting. Kids 4 and older will surely think it is the best place they have ever been. Parents may not think so because of the mass of kids, but go early in the day for smaller crowds.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic House also viewed

 

Been to The Magic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magic House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.