We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens...best seen in the summer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Missouri Botanical Garden

Missouri Botanical Garden
4344 Shaw St, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 577 9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 319 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors discover and share knowledge about plants and their environments at this National Historic Landmark, which has been open for more than 140 years.
Malibu, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens...best seen in the summer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having lived in California for over 30 years, I never even considered that the Botanical Garden may not be in full bloom in November! Well, I was clearly reminded that it's winter and many of the plants are gone, dying or nearly dead. The Japanese Gardens were lovely and visiting the Climatron (the geodesic dome that is a greenhouse ) was great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,357
    165
    25
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A "natural" gem in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our latest visits were for the Lantern festival and "The Garden" was resplendent in their finest as usual. We regularly attend special exhibitions and events but we always find the core of the garden to be a special place. We never get tired of visiting, whether for the Crocus Bloom in the Spring, the Orchid show, the Camelias in the Linean house, the Holiday Garden Railway, or just showing off for visitors from out-of-town. We have our favorite spaces but there are always new discoveries and re-discovered special places that we come back for. It is also a favorite place to find special and unique gifts for special friends for all occasions.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The best use of land anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have known of several people that have come from other parts of the world to be very impressed with our Garden. We have seen other gardens in other cities, they don't hold a candle to our garden. We clearly have the best there is.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A mini vacation at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Garden is one of my family's favorite places to visit. It is truly like taking a vacation only minutes from our home. It is beautiful any time of the year that you visit. A fabulous place to take a walk and forget your worries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent array of trees and flowers...well maked and kept. My wife is the avid fan and Master Gardener. She loved way the beds were planted and the hisory provided with the architure of the property

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missouri Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.