We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Union Station

St. Louis Union Station
1820 Market Street, Saint Louis, MO 63188 (Downtown)
314-421-6655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 30 Shopping in Saint Louis
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1894, this massive Romanesque-style building was one of the largest train terminals in the world.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at a hotel near this old station and visited it most days. Sadly there are a lot of empty and closed shops, but the ones trading are pretty good as are the places to eat. The original building and the historical displays are very interesting and well worth a visit to anyone interested in railways or US history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    70
    87
    98
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Almost dead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Union Station was revitalized back in the late '80s with shops, restaurants, a hotel, and a small "lake" that included paddle boats. In my first visit back in '91, it was a crowded busy place. Now, it's almost dead. Most of the restaurants are gone (the Hardrock is still out back), and there are only a few shops left. On may latest trip to STL, I walked through there... it was kind of depressing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very few stores”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe how many empty spots are in Union Station. There use to be restaurants and a lot of unique shops. Someone needs to revitilize, again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sad sorry remains of something once great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When I was in high school my mom and I took a trip to St Louis. This was then my dream shopping destination. It had tons of shops and was hustling and bustling full of people. Now it is dark and sad and kinda scary. I was glad I had my husband with me. There are a few no name and knock-off stores, a few "we buy gold" stores, and cheap jewelry stores. Nothing I have ever heard of. I couldn't even show my hubs the ballroom bc it was locked off. It is very sad to see this beautiful historical place reduced to the shell of it's former self.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon MO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the time to visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter was at Union Station for a dance convention, this last weekend. We decided to walk around Union Station and we were so disappointed. Most of the store fronts are empty, the food court was full of homeless people, and they charged $12 to park. There are so many better places to visit when coming to St. Louis.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Union Station also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to St. Louis Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Union Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.