We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
1 Government Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 781 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was as much fun for the adults as it was for the kids. There is not an admission fee to enter the zoo. Most of what is available is free of charge with a few exceptions. They have a miniature railroad. The first thing we did was to take a train ride. We past many of the different animal attractions. This gave us a great idea of what was where within the zoo. After the train ride we spent the next few hours walking around. There is something for everyone to see. Within the zoo they offer a beverage and food stand, great to grab something to eat and rest for a few minutes.
This was a fun afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,045
    506
    117
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely the best zoo I've been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I haven't been to San Diego yet, but it also isn't free! We did manage to also get the free parking on the street. The way they display the animals is excellent! I agree with the previous reviews. There were only a couple that we came to and couldn't view them well. Many were up close and personal. My husband was scolded for touching one of the penguins. He should have known better of course ;-) but who would think that they were going to be just right next to us splashing us! The lion was up on it's rock roaring at everyone too. The king cobra was up against the glass dancing. I'm not sure what their secret is to make the animals perform like that ;-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No way you're doing this zoo in a day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Big Cat country, Bird Cage from the Smithsonian, Penguin Cove, Seal Basin, Ape house, Reptile House, Zooline Railroad, Children's Zoo, Petting Stingrays, etc. etc. etc. How can this zoo possibly be free, with free parking for early arrivals to Forest Park, and a wonderful family atmosphere?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Must see attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great zoo! Free admission. Train for kids and adults to enjoy. Many exhibits to schedule. Be sure to watch the sea lion feedings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing zoo with so much to see and do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love visiting the St. Louis Zoo It is open year-round and it is free admission. If you get there early enough, you can park for free on the street along Forest Park. Otherwise, parking is $15 per vehicle. They do charge a fee for some of the exhibits. You can pay for each exhibit separately or you can buy a safari pass for $10 which gives you one admission to the Children's Zoo, Zooline Railroad, Conservation Carousel, Movie, 4-D Motion Simulator and Stingrays at Caribbean Cove (which is open during the spring/summer months). The zoo is divided into six different zones where the animals are housed. It's spread out so that even on busy days, its not overly crowded. We There are several hills throughout the zoo, so walking shoes are a must. They have plenty of places to sit and rest and several food stations. Food is a bit pricey but you can bring your own cooler/picnic basket; however, you cannot use straws at the zoo. If you get something with a straw you'll get this "paper straw" to use for the safety of the animals. If you have little ones, make sure you stop by the children's zoo. They have a play area, petting zoo, and an area where they can play in the water. We've brought a change of clothes and let our kids cool off on hot days.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.