We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite zoo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
., Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 781 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 147 attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Missouri
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“My favorite zoo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love animals. SO much. This makes it kind of hard for me to enjoy zoos though, because I know these habitats are not the best. I wish STL would get rid of the Elephant habitat and send their elephants to a sanctuary. Out of all of the zoos I have visited across america though, this has been my favorite. I think they do a decent job with the animals, the park is clean, and even on very busy days you still have lots to do there! It is also very pretty!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,723
    428
    99
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good clean Zoo, FREE to get in, Lots of things to see & do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went here on July 4th weekend. They had big cooling fans for us and the children to play in. We got here right when they opened and it was still cool so we saw some of the animals before they went to hide out of the heat of the day. They have alot of animals and the Zoo is clean. We paid to park, but there is some free parking on the street if you want to find it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to amble about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoy the zoo every time we come. At this time of year, it’s easy to find free parking on the street. In the summer, we use the pay lot, but either way, the zoo admission is FREE. Not many places where you can see a whole-class zoo for free. The zoo is clean and well maintained and worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Zoo!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very nice zoo, spent 5 hours or so there and still didn't see everything. The zoo itself is free to get in but if you park in their parking lot it's a spendy but not bad considering you don't have to pay admission into the zoo. We had a good time & was filled with laughter. Lots of different animals to see & my son loved the bug building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This was the first big zoo I ever visited. I think it is amazing to have do many species together. I highly recommend if you go to St. Louis, you have to visit the zoo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Louis Zoo to your Saves list