We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ZOO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
1 Government Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 781 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 319 things to do in Saint Louis
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Romeoville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT ZOO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was such a great ZOO! We loved the atmosphere and the amount of animals. We had a great day and will definately be going back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,273
    556
    122
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We loved the St. Louis Zoo. Although it was crowded we had no problems seeing all the animals. We would highly recommend this adventure for kids and adults.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stopped at the zoo on our way to Indiana. We had been here before although it was over 8 years ago. We loved it! The zoo is free! Parking is $15.00. The exhibits were very nice. I think our favorite was the penguins, prairie dogs, and primates. We could have stayed and watched the penguins all day!! We were only there 3 hours, so we would definitely go again! I would recommend eating before or after though because everything was pretty expensive, with a bottle of water being $3.50. The kettle corn was awesome though. We munched on that for lunch then ate a big dinner outside the park.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Always a good time at the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We visited the zoo on a nice hot June day and have nothing bad to say about it. The sea lion exhibit has been revamped and isn't opening until June 30th so I would like to come back and see that soon. Everything else was in great shape, all interaction with staff was great and the animals were out and easy to see.

Tip-you can bring in you own picnics/drinks/coolers to save some money!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I had been to the St. Louis zoo several times as a child. We took our children to the zoo recently. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The weather ended up becoming chilly so not all of the animals were out, if you are going to go make sure it's a nice day so that the people in your group can see and enjoy the animals!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.