We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
1 Government Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 781 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The zoo is free-BUT $12 parking,$5 hot dogs,and fees for almost everything soon add up.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,047
    508
    117
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Animals not seen at other zoos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The St. Louis zoo has some animals we've never seen at other zoos. They have some species that they are trying to breed to keep them from becoming extinct. Some exhibits are very unique. The hippo exhibit was great as you could see the hippos swimming underwater as well as the ones that were above water due to a plexiglass wall. The orangutangs were lively and fun to watch. The main building is beautiful and has classroom space and a friendly staff. There is a lot of construction as the zoo currently so that was less than ideal. It also wasn't as clean as we'd have liked. It was a fun visit though and part of Forest Park which offers so many fun things to do.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Like the St. Louis Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Clean, friendly and FREE!!!Love the St Louis ZOO. Such a beautiful day that the animals were out. Safari type zoo with not a lot of bars and cages.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The St Louis Zoo is fabulous, allow two to three hours--you could spend the entire day there. It's clean, well planned out and has every animal you would want to see. The museums and zoo are free!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The St. Louis Zoo was a side trip offered in connection with a business convention I attended last week. We were there in the afternoon and enjoyed beautiful weather that day.

Our group was diverse - some wanted to see the monkeys, some the big cats, and some the snakes. We got an up-close-and-personal look at an ape when he decided to lay down for a rest right at our feet. I have never seen such huge snakes as the pythons. Their heads are about the size of my fist! My favorite sight of the day was the giraffes. They're just so amazing to watch.

I would recommend this zoo for anyone - it has something to offer all ages.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.