We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
1 Government Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314 781 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 319 things to do in Saint Louis
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Gray, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved the Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The St. Louis Zoo was a side trip offered in connection with a business convention I attended last week. We were there in the afternoon and enjoyed beautiful weather that day.

Our group was diverse - some wanted to see the monkeys, some the big cats, and some the snakes. We got an up-close-and-personal look at an ape when he decided to lay down for a rest right at our feet. I have never seen such huge snakes as the pythons. Their heads are about the size of my fist! My favorite sight of the day was the giraffes. They're just so amazing to watch.

I would recommend this zoo for anyone - it has something to offer all ages.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,265
    555
    122
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than the St. Louis Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

It keeps getting better and better. The new penguin exhibit is just remarkable (bring a jacket or sweater -- the temperature is set for the comfort of the penguins, not the comfort of the humans). Rockhopper penguins seem to be free (although they never hop down to the walkway. The display of King penguins is remarkable. Kings look just like Emperor penguins except that they're about a foot shorter. They're all great fun to watch, but the whole zoo is outstanding.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Zoo is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to the the St. Louis Zoo and found it to be a lot of fun. The spaciousness of the park is wonderful. The exhibits display a lot of the animals naturally. My favorite were the penguins however. It was a very hot day, extremely hot, but the cooling stations were a plus, they were everywhere. The food choices were good and the purchase of a pass for some attractions was a nice touch. I will return in September because I did not allow enough time to see it all.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It's fabulous & general admission is FREE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This zoo is big and beautifully landscaped and full of all SORTS of animals on dry land and in water. There is a wonderful small car open-air train system that you can ride around the entire zoo with stops in every area for a reasonable ticket price. A few special exhibits have small admission prices however the vast majority of the zoo is free and takes hours to see. There are SO many places to get a beautiful pic of the kids too. Arrive at the zoo like 15 minutes before they open to park FREE on the street, otherwise ya gotta pay for parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you have kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Initially we were wondering if we should see yet another zoo, but we were really glad that we did. Nice collection of animals, good places to eat lunch, good "paid" attractions to "rejuvenate" kids and best of all, it's free! We first planned only to see the "big" animals, but we ended up visiting all the animals. It's not very large to walk around. My 6 yo did fine. We parked across the street at the lot for $12 and got some coupons. The food at the giraffe cafe was excellent. There were so many choices (us being vegetarians, too) and there was nothing to complain. We did it in about 4 hours including a lunch stop. Our kids enjoyed too.. nobody complained about "too many animals" or "too much walk". They loved watching the little train that goes around. We didn't actually ride it. Being a long weekend, we expected a lot of crowd. We reached there at 11 and were still able to see lots of empty parking spaces. It was cloudy in the morning and in the early afternoon the sun came out and so did a lot (a lot, trust me) of people. It became very crowded! So get there as early as you can!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.