We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like smoked ribs this is the place,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
3106 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO (Grand Center / Midtown)
(314) 535-4340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,549 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you like smoked ribs this is the place,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location on side street was had to find. Nothing fancy, just good food. Staff is friendly and courteous.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    285
    103
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, but go early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I consider myself a BBQ snob and Pappy's is the best, without as doubt. I have had Memphis BBQ, Tennessee BBQ, Illinois BBQ, Arkansas BBQ and many more. Nothing comes close to the perfectly smoked, lightly sweet and spicy ribs. You have to try their flash fried corn on the cob too - also great.

Go early, but even if there is a line, it moves fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Pappy's and the food was again amazing. Huge portions of delicious pork, chicken and more! This is a must-see, and we'll go there any time we're in St. Louis!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Pulled Pork. But dont go in a hurry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I moved to Texas a few years ago and while Texas has some great BBQ places they dont do pulled pork. So when i came to Pappy's ate pulled pork and ribs it was great. but the line was crazy. Line to get inside a line to get to the door and then a line that snakes through the restaurant to order.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best BBQ in the midwest! My husband and I eat BBQ at least once a week in Georgia, North Carolina, TN or FL. Love the midwest rubs though, and Pappy's was awesome. Really good sides also. Lunch and dinner time can be very crowded, so you may want to try an off time if you are in a hurry. Parking is behind the restaurant and seating is pretty tight, but worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

University City, Saint Louis
 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.