We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Just wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
3106 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)
(314) 535-4340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,409 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pappy's BBQ makes true southern BBQ aficionados weep for joy. The meat is tender, flavorful, and smoky, and the sides are to. die. for. Get there early, as there is usually a long line and once they run out, they run out for the day. Pappy's also caters, so consider them for your next catering gig.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stopped here looking for some good bbq. We both had the pulled pork and it was fabulous-so moist! The sweet potato fries were also good as was the cole slaw. I would skip the green beans, The pulled pork is served on really good fat bread. Just a hole in the wall place with the greatest pulled pork.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great BBQ and a very cool blues atmosphere. The owners and staff are wonderful and it is always worth the wait. Simply the best in town!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank St_LouisKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome eats!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The food is incredible and the place has a great vibe. I only wish they would move into a bigger space so more people can dine in. Would love to see a better brisket also, I have tried it twice now and it always seems a little tough. I may be trying too hard to compare it to our good Memphis BBQ but this place is damn good. The wait in line is worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“What a waste of your time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

...if you do not here. Excellent food and top-notch staff. The head chef is professional and down to earth. Parking can be a little tough and, because the food is cooked every day fresh, they tend to sell out before they close. Also the long line was misleading. Our order was placed and filled within 20 minutes. Be warned; you might not want to move for a while after eating Pappy's BBQ.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jes9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 
Florissant, Saint Louis
 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing