We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Just wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
3106 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO (Grand Center / Midtown)
(314) 535-4340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,540 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pappy's BBQ makes true southern BBQ aficionados weep for joy. The meat is tender, flavorful, and smoky, and the sides are to. die. for. Get there early, as there is usually a long line and once they run out, they run out for the day. Pappy's also caters, so consider them for your next catering gig.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    248
    90
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stopped here looking for some good bbq. We both had the pulled pork and it was fabulous-so moist! The sweet potato fries were also good as was the cole slaw. I would skip the green beans, The pulled pork is served on really good fat bread. Just a hole in the wall place with the greatest pulled pork.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great BBQ and a very cool blues atmosphere. The owners and staff are wonderful and it is always worth the wait. Simply the best in town!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome eats!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The food is incredible and the place has a great vibe. I only wish they would move into a bigger space so more people can dine in. Would love to see a better brisket also, I have tried it twice now and it always seems a little tough. I may be trying too hard to compare it to our good Memphis BBQ but this place is damn good. The wait in line is worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“What a waste of your time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

...if you do not here. Excellent food and top-notch staff. The head chef is professional and down to earth. Parking can be a little tough and, because the food is cooked every day fresh, they tend to sell out before they close. Also the long line was misleading. Our order was placed and filled within 20 minutes. Be warned; you might not want to move for a while after eating Pappy's BBQ.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 
University City, Saint Louis
 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.