We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Land mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Arch

Gateway Arch
200 Washington Ave., btwn Memorial Dr & Lenore K. Sullivan Blvd, on the riverfront, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Downtown)
+1 314-982-1410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous 630-foot marvel of engineering is known as the "Gateway to the West." See 30 miles in every direction and 200 years into the past! 200 Years ago, Lewis and Clark set out on their great journey. Today, the Gateway Arch stands as the iconic monument symbolizing the westward expansion of the United States. And if you've never seen the grandeur of this architectural wonder or the breathtaking views of St. Louis 630 ft. In the air - now is your chance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Land mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A really nice place to stop and see, specially when you take the shuttle to the top, a really nice view on St.Louis ... a must stop on Route 66

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,224
    1,178
    341
    55
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must-see while in St Louis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is at the top of the list for things you must see while in St Louis. The ride to the top of the arch is cozy, but not bad. Of course, the view from the top is what you're there for! The museum downstairs is a nice little history lesson on the Westward Expansion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“arch visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

too long of a wait, they didn't take into account the size of people they put in the capsule to take you up.
My husband is 340lbs and 6'6", myself and son were enough to squeeze in but then to fill up the remaining to seats (which I understand they have to) but then added another large lady and her partner. Needless to say the journey up was embarrassing for both my husband and her as they tried to squeeze in between the rest of us..then of course it's so hot and crowed up top, we stayed up there for 5 minutes, took pictures and got the heck out of there. Wasn't for us, worth it except now we can say we did it. .I could have done without it really.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was really cool to go up in the arch. It was really neat to see St. Louis from the top. If your claustrophobic you won't want to go up in the arch your in a small like pod that takes you to the top with 4 to 5 people. I didn't think it was to bad of a ride. The museum was cool and it is free. I would recommend going to see the arch it was neat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a must see in St. Louis. The lower area has a very informative museum of America's settling of the west from the earliest years to the current. The Arch itself is an architectural marvel. Now, if you decide to go up in it to see the view, get ready for a very unusual trip! The trams as they are called consist of 8 pods that hold 4 or five people each. I was scared to death as I am claustrophobic and afraid of heights. Well, the pod got to me a bit, but it was worth it to see the fantastic view from the top. I would definitely recommend it to anyone to do at least once!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Arch also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.