We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a bucket list attraction.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Arch

Gateway Arch
200 Washington Ave., btwn Memorial Dr & Lenore K. Sullivan Blvd, on the riverfront, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Downtown)
+1 314-982-1410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 148 attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, History Museums, Observation Decks/ Towers, Historic Sites
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Running
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This famous 630-foot marvel of engineering is known as the "Gateway to the West." See 30 miles in every direction and 200 years into the past! 200 Years ago, Lewis and Clark set out on their great journey. Today, the Gateway Arch stands as the iconic monument symbolizing the westward expansion of the United States. And if you've never seen the grandeur of this architectural wonder or the breathtaking views of St. Louis 630 ft. In the air - now is your chance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More than just a bucket list attraction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The tram to the top was broken when we arrived so we waited about an hour while they fixed it. During that time we just walked through the Westward Expansion Museum. It was slightly overcast at the top but no less exciting. Avoid the tram if you have any inclination of claustrophobia whatsoever. There is even a sample tram for you to try out before hand.

Make reservations for the tram ride before your visit. When something unexpected happens, like a break down, the schedule backs up fast so walk-in visitors were out of luck.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,983
    1,034
    304
    49
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better than I remember from past visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I hadn't been to the Arch in probably 20 years. We've driven by it literally dozens of times since, and our kids always asked when they could get up close to see it. Well, we planned time on a recent weekend to St. Louis. We were pleasantly surprised at how interesting the museum in the base of the Arch was. Even though I pre-purchased our tickets to the top, we had to wait while the elevators were repaired. That was a little nerve wracking -- the kids worried the elevator would break down while we were on it, but everything was fine. At first they weren't too organized on how to handle those of us who were waiting, but soon they got it together and came up with a system where we didn't have to just stand in line and wait, but rather could visit the museum without losing our place in line for when the elevator was fixed.

The historical movie about making the Arch was fascinating, we had a great time at the top, and also had a lot of fun taking pictures from many different angles outside. They had a nice gift shop, too. All in all, a great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“St. Louis Arch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's an amazing piece of architecture and is visible from all over Saint Louis. It's really beautiful Must see!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you don't mind tight spaces you will enjoy going to the top of the Arch for a spectacular view. If you are a little clautrophobic you can skip going up and just wander around the free museum at the bottom.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are going to St. Louis for the first time, you simply must see the arch and ride their little bitty elevators to the top. The view at the top is astounding but it is pretty much the same view you would see from any tall building in any city. The monument itself is the marvel and the historical information imparted very interesting. The lines are long and it is not cheap for a quick ride to the top and down but it was fun once.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Arch also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.