We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Drury standard.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4213 Frederick Blvd, Saint Joseph, MO 64506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not up to Drury standard.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a real disappointment. I stay with Drury at every opportunity and this property should embarrass them. Room 206. The 2d floor hallway reeks of tobacco smoke. The bath drain is very slow. If you shower you will be up to your ankles very quickly. The TV is completely outdated and will not permit you to hook up an iPad or iPhone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for posting a review for our hotel! I apologize that you had some concerns during your stay. We are very excited with our upcoming renovation here in October. We will be getting brand new hallway carpet as well as new carpet, furniture and new Flat screen TV's in all the rooms. We are due to be finished with the renovation just after the first of the year. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope you come back to check out our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    37
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
57
40
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was on a X-country trip, with a stop in St. Joe for an overnight. This was my first experience with a Drury hotel, and I must say, if this is any indication of what they are all like, it will certainly be my 1st choice hands down. A simple beatiful, functional hotel. With tastefully designed contemeray rooms. Plus incredible added ammeninties, like an evening "cocktail/social" ,with up to 3 free drinks !! Not to mention a wonderful breakfast buffet the next morning.
All in all a very well run property,with courtious and a friendly, efficient staff , there for all your needs and wants.
Located just off the major highways, yet close enough to all that St. Joseph has to offer.
Be sure to check out the totally unique "Glore" psychiatric museum, just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I was surprised to find no little shampoos,lotion, etc in bathroom. These extras are a given in most hotels, and I don't feel you should have to ask for them. The A/c wasn't working and room was miserable all night. Very humid in room and bathroom door wouldn't shut. Yet hallway was ice cold. Manager did give us a free night, but I wished that everything would have been better. The location is close to interstate and a BBQ eatery. The lobby and breakfast area were nicely appointed. Manager upon checkout was sympathetic to our sleepless night. We appreciated that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We are scheduled for a renovation this January. With that we are receiving new HVAC units and windows in all rooms. Our current heating/cooling system is being upgraded! We are very excited about the change. We do set all of our rooms at 72 degrees and Cool, which we have found is an average for most travelers. We are also keeping the shades shut in the rooms on the west side of the building where the sun tends to come in. It has been very hot throughout the country the past couple of weeks and we are doing everything we can to keep the rooms at a comfortable level for you when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed 1 night on our xcountry trip. Rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I found this hotel to be a great value. I would stay at the hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I are avid Drury patrons, but this one was very average. We usually get a King room, but we had our granddaughter with us so we made a reservation for two beds. When we arrived, it had two DOUBLE beds (we were told Drury Inn does not have Queen beds). We asked to change to a suite, but the hotel could not accommodate this request. Our room was clean, but small and had way too much furniture (it was showing its age) and we felt very confined. Also, the TV needed to be updated. My husband said he felt like he was sleeping in a hammock. The evening kickback was the usual as was breakfast. The orange juice machine was out and the girl could not fix it. We will continue to patronize Drury Inn, but not this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The place was right off the highway, which I love on a long road trip. Friendly and helpful staff. Exercise room was small but could accommodate a couple of people. The free food in the evening and for breakfast was a good added bargain. Made our one night stop easy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Right off 1-29. not a scenic location but not too many hotel choices in this town....
For some reason were alot of dogs during our stay.Not a problem but just odd.
Free breakfast & a night snack from 530 to 7 helped balance the cost of the room.
Clean & convenient location.Enclosed pool & hot tub was older but functional .
Drury chain is nice ,seemed high for the town of St Joseph.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph

Address: 4213 Frederick Blvd, Saint Joseph, MO 64506
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Drury Inn And Suites St Joseph
Drury Inn St Joseph
Drury Inn Saint Joseph
Drury Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Drury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites St Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.