We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more then what I would expect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4024 Frederick Avenue, Saint Joseph, MO 64506 (Formerly Super 8 Motel St. Joseph)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little more then what I would expect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here while driving to see the Huskers play. It by far was not the most modern, but you could tell the owners had tried to keep up. It was much cleaner than I expected for the price. I would have no problem staying here again if I was looking for a clean room with no frills for a good price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    5
    7
    12
See reviews for
7
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogersville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We tried to stay there in July 2011, we checked in got to the room, it smelled of smoke (non-smoking room) when my wife went into the restroom, she found someone else's clothes hanging behind the door. That was the last straw, we grabbed our stuff and left. We told the manager about it and he refused to give us a refund. We are currently disputing the charge with the credit card company. Not sure how that will turn out. We had stayed at the same named motel in Rapid City SD and it was very nice, this one is a dump!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistjosephmo, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the ABVI St. Joseph during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and regret the experience.

We are investigating the entire issue of uncleanliness and the refund related issue.

All hotel staff has been given training to ensure that such a thing does never happens again.

Please consider staying us with again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The room was clean and the staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast the next morning was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

this hotel is enchanting with a very friendly staff , the housekeepers out do thier selves , I will say I was going to stay at another place and we had to get away from there . so we went across the street where we found this hotel we were upset when we came in . We were greeted by a smiling face . She listened to us and then asked if we would like to see a room before we bought a room . She showed us the room which was kinda small but extremly clean it smelled clean looked clean she even took the sheets off the bed to show us there were no bugs here . The housekeeper was called to make the bed again and she did even though she was busy . This hotel is great clean , friendly just great we will always stay there when we come thank you Lonna and Judy .

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Do to business circumstances, we had no idea of how long we would be staying. It started out being over the Memorial Day Weekend and ended up a total of 13 days. The staff was very accomodating in continuing our rooms on a day to day basis. Lonna, the manager with whom we had the most contact was excellent. As with any business, it is only as good as it's staff and they are as good as it gets. We are leaving here having made new friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This place was amazing the staff is friendly, helpful ... the location you can't beat it right off the highway... the rooms are clean the beds are comfortable. I will be back here

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

What a nice motel. I stayed here for 5 days and it was super every day. Launa at the front desk was super nice and professional. She extended her courtesy to all 8 of us every day, even after we, Michigan Tech, beat Mo in Woman's Basketball. She was super nice when it was not necessary. I come there several times a year and will always stay there from now on, along with my 8 friends. The cleaning crew was super nice also!!!!! Nice people will always get you more business!!! The rooms were kept super clean and so was the motel in general. It was obvious, the staff worked well together. thanks

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 4024 Frederick Avenue, Saint Joseph, MO 64506 (Formerly Super 8 Motel St. Joseph)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story interior corridor property. Restaurants, gas and diesel nearby. I-29 exit 47. FREE guest breakfast. On-site guest laundry. Renovated 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Saint Joseph

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.