We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada St Joseph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada St Joseph to your Saves list
Ramada St Joseph
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4016 Frederick Boulevard, I-29, Exit 47, Saint Joseph, MO 64506   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Sedalia, Missouri
1 review
“Best Hotel Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel was a great experience for our group. The sweet room was really nice and clean. The staff was kind and very helpful to our group.The morning breakfast was delicious and FREE! Next was the Monkey Cove Water Park, and I can say that the water park was really fun and was safe to play. The slide in the water park was really awesome to ride. The mattress was really comfortable and very easy to sleep. The price was affordable and reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    101
    122
    117
    93
See reviews for
272
60
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I expected more from Ramada. Everything in the hotel was well worn. Housekeeping staff very noisy in the morning. Hot Breakfast was advertised..what a joke. Drury Inn is just a few blocks away..PLEASE stay there. There is a Hampton Inn nearby, but I don't know much about them..never stayed there. Room was clean, but that is the only saving grace of the stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cboo3333, General Manager at Ramada St Joseph, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay at the Ramada St. Joseph. We are continually looking for ways to improve our product and service to our guests. Your comments are valuable to us and vital toward those efforts. I hope you will consider us for a future visit to St. Joseph and allow us the opportunity to impress you with our sincere efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My parents booked this hotel as a meeting point for us to have a little fun.
The girls loved the water park. The "Whisky's" (bar/restaraunt) attached to hotel was great! My girls loved throwing the peanuts on the floor. :) The free "hot" breakfast was also very good. The hotel had easy access to highways and other eating and shopping places. Overall it was a great trip. Oh... the only downer was no elevator. But no worries, there is a main level floor if needed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cboo3333, General Manager at Ramada St Joseph, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for your kind words! In my experience, it is not as common for people who have enjoyed a great experience to take the time to write a review, but we are so happy that you did! We hope you will visit us the next time you are in the area; be sure to call ahead if you would like to secure a first floor room. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Leonard Wood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We really loved how spacious our room was. It is nice to be able to move around not feel so cramped when you are in a hotel room. We loved that our pet could come along too. Not crazy about paying a non refundable pet fee, but everyone charges that these days. There were many areas to walk our pet, though so that was nice. We loved the location. We loved the restaurant attached to the hotel, the Whiskey Creek. The restaurant has outstanding food, and they deliver to your room for no extra charge. We really appreciated that. :0 We loved the mini kitchen area--extra sink, mini fridge and microwave w/lots of cabinet space.We also loved the armior that the holds the TV. Space to actually put away things if you need it.
That being said though, there should be some improvements. Cleanliness. Our bathroom and mini-kitchen area was not that clean. There were insect remains or insect droppings in the bathroom, under the sink area.I don't know which, b/c I chose to not get too close to whatever it was. There was something sticky and gooey all over the mini-hand sink by our fridge/microwave. The sticky stuff was also on the cabinets. Luckily, I brought some Lysol wipes with me and wiped everything down that did not appear clean.
Another improvement would be to shorten the hours of the indoor waterpark and lower the price for guests. It is $20.00 extra fee for use of the waterpark. It does not close until 10pm. This was problematic for us, since our room opened up to the waterpark, and we had young children that needed to go to bed and couldn't bc of the noise. If you have young ones, this may not be an ideal place to stay due to noise. If they shortened the hours of operation to have it close at 9pm that would be such an improvement.
Another area to improve on would be the breakfast situation. The first morning we were there, it was totally chaotic.They were out of everything hot, except a few bites of imitation eggs. Gross! Eventually, they brought out some sort of egg casserole and some biscuits, but by then we had to leave. The cereal station area was completely messed up, and the toast area was a mess as well. There were two jugs out that said "Tips for the Cook" and "Gratuity". I thought that was tacky--given that the breakfast was not properly stocked or attended too.The server, if you can call it that, never did anything to help anyone out. She just took her time clearing off tables AFTER people left. It was very disappointed. Also, guests were taking their old plates back and forth to the buffet, which everyone knows is not proper and is a health risk. More attention and help definitely needs to be given to the breakfast program. The second morning was slightly better, but still not maintained or stocked in a way to get people in and out fast, and give them a great breakfast.
Further, there seem to be "hidden fee's". We were charged for a safe in our room. We did not book a room w/a safe, or know that you had to ask NOT to have one. So we were a little put off they charged us extra for a safe that we didn't know we were getting nor did we ask for. Makes no sense at all.They advertise "free wifi" but there is an option to upgrade your speed for a certain charge per day. If you want fast internet, then you'll have to pay extra.
I don't think we would stay there again,but I wouldn't say stay away from it either. It all depends on what you want in a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cboo3333, General Manager at Ramada St Joseph, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. This review was shared in a recent Managers meeting and each issue was addressed with the appropriate personnel. Guest comments are invaluable to us in our efforts to improve our product and service, We have made some changes to the property as a direct response to your comments, including some in our Breakfast Cafe. Thank you also for your comments regarding the Water Park hours; we do close the park at 9pm during the week, but extended until 10pm after receiving comments from guests wishing to have more time in the park on the weekends. If you visit us again in the future, please feel free to request a room away from the water park so the little ones are able to get to sleep without any noise issues. We would love to have another opportunity to impress you in the future; I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The Staff is extremely nice, and whenever I needed anything they helped me out. I truely appreciated this. Now, with the economy as it, I understand that money doesnt go into big ticket items. However, the excercise facitly, well, a lawsuit could prob. be brought on by someone, the treadmill security feature is broken. the website shows weights and there is Zero in there. The security of the hotel is good, somewhat. One door was suppose to be locked, it never did going to the outside. Everything seems old and rundown. But, like I said, with the economy, who wants to dump a bunch of money into a hotel or etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cboo3333, General Manager at Ramada St Joseph, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you your kind words regarding our staff; guest service is very important to us at the Ramada. We are in the process of making changes to the hotel's exercise facility and expect to be able to improve the equipment available for our guests in the near future. I believe the doors are timed to lock from the outside each night, however they should not keep a guest from exiting the building at any time. We want to provide our guests the best product and service available for their hard-earned money! Guest comments give us the opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes and help us to better see where improvements are needed. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axtell, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I thought since this was a Ramada Inn i wouldn't need to question the quality...boy was i wrong. Where do i begin! I was disappointed right from the start, as soon as we walked in the room i was suprised the room was so dingy, stains everywhere(on the carpet, on the couch and so bad that we didn't even sit on it and we were there two nights, and yellow stains in the tub and sinks, paint chips all over the walls, cigarette burn holes all over the bedspread of a non smoking room. We stayed in a king suit with a bunkbed and sorry to say the bunkbed was more comfortable than the king bed was and i know this because i couldn't sleep in the king bed because it was so hard and ended up moving one of the kids so i could sleep in the bottom of the bunkbed. Looking back , i shouldn't be suprised at how bad the breakfast was but i still am. It was the worst breakfast i have ever attempted to eat...ever. The eggs were very tasteless, watery, powdered eggs, i couldn't believe everything was so nasty tasting, the second morning we didn't even go to breakfast. Last but not least, on top of having to pay a ridiculas amount of money for this hotel, the waterpark-pool is extra, $20 extra per 5 people in a room. So, you guessed it, do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We took our 4 & 8-year old grandsons here. They played in the waterpark for 3 hours and never got bored. A great feature for families with children. Rooms/service was fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada St Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada St Joseph

Address: 4016 Frederick Boulevard, I-29, Exit 47, Saint Joseph, MO 64506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada St Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada St Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Ramada Inn Saint Joseph
Ramada Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada St Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.