We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful carefully restored old mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1723 Francis Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful carefully restored old mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a delightful stay with Olin at the Whiskey Mansion. He shared with us his daunting task of restoring the old home with an incredible eye for detail. All restoration has been matched in great detail to the original. His work on this home and knowledge of it's history is wonderful. We were able to enjoy breakfast on the old front porch thanks to a great break in the weather and had a yummy breakfast with others and Olin. He was very informative about things to do and places to eat.

Room Tip: My only dissatisfaction was that the ac blew on me all night and I have a big problem with fans that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
21
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Collins, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Bed and Breakfast with Class. Wonderful period mansion with appropriate antiques. Rooms very comfortable. Going to suggest other colleagues to stay here on business. Breakfast, was special. Dont like TVs in the room, but that's my stick.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The downstairs is breathtaking and all three rooms our party used were lovely. It is amazing that this property could be restored from the condition shown in the pictures after it was purchased by the current owner. His name is Olin and he was our innkeeper/host, Olin is accommodating and helpful. There are many interesting sites to visit nearby, so this is a fun weekend getaway trip from the KC area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rented the whole mansion for two nights, so our experience was not like many solo travelers. A family get-together with cousins, etc. Rooms were great! Comfortable beds, excellent furnishings, the attention to detail is everywhere. Comfortable downstairs spaces where conversations can carry on for hours. I've noticed that a few people have complained about tubs or showers. This is a historic Victorian mansion and the plumbing options inherent with an updating can sometimes be a bit quirky. No one from our group of twelve complained.

Olin was the perfect host. Provided great recommendations for downtown restaurants, gave us great breakfast, land even catered one afternoon reception.

Can't say enough about our experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took our daughter to a play at the Missouri Theatre and stayed at the Whiskey Mansion. The mansion was gorgeous. Olin, the owner, did an amazing restoration job! His suggestions on where to visit and dine were right on! We loved everything about it. The breakfast was WONDERFUL and so was the atmosphere and music! We can't wait for another reason to visit
St. Joseph and stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Ne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoy the architect of years gone by, so were impressed with pictures of this restored mansion on the internet. The rooms are tastfully decorated (we stayed in both the nursery and Ferdinand's) and found both to be acceptable...with the exception of the bathtub in the nursery. Where the clawfoot tub in Ferdinand's had a hand-held "telephone" shower, the tub in the nursery had no shower, only a spigot the size of a pencil mounted less than an inch away from the tub... shampooing and rinsing off required using a cup! The floors could have used a swiffer, we killed boxelder bugs in both rooms, and noise was a factor when other guests returned at 4:45 am and partied for the next hour.
The food was very good, and allowance for a food intolerance graciously made. We requested decaf coffee or tea the first morning, & enjoyed one cup of herbal tea, but after that were told that they were "all out" and even though another guest also requested it, we had none the following am. Finally purchased our own at a store and shared with the other guest, making it in the microwave ourselves. No juice or even water was offered with the meal.
Summary: Beautiful house; wish there had been more attention to service and cleanliness

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The Whiskey Mansion is a must stay. Comfortable, cozy and clean. Olin, the inn keeper greeted us promptly, showed us to our room. He provided fabulous suggestions of places to visit and dine. Would definitely consider returning. If you visit be sure to check out the photos of the fire in the mansion, you'll appreciate the restoration much more. If your lucky maybe you'll be served the fabulous sour dough waffles!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1723 Francis Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored historic 1885 mansion, nestled in Missouri's largest National Registered District, will pamper you with its spacious rooms, full breakfast, and large bathrooms with soaking clawfoot tubs. Authentically appointed with period Eastlake furniture, this Non-Smoking inn will give you a quiet, romantic evening and restful night during your visit to Saint Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiskey Mansion Hotel Saint Joseph
Whiskey Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.