We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the prime rib!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
4016 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3157
816-676-1298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 155 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: We feature wood-fired grilled steaks, award-winning BBQ and so much more cooked over full-sized logs of oak and ash.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Try the prime rib!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I come to st. Joseph often for work, and I'm sorry that I haven't tried the prime rib until now. I've been missing out. Its the best prime rib I've ever eaten. The wait staff is good and I like the atmosphere. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    22
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
“awesome food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had just helped move our son and wife to St Jo and we were craving steaks. We were seated quickly and our server was quick to come by the table to take orders. Every employee was friendly. We all ordered steaks, which were cooked perfect for each of us. Very tasty sides for all: sweet potatoes and grilled veggies.We had so much food we had to have doggie bags!!
Prices were fair- comparable to other steak houses. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A very cool joint to have a drink and eat. Right off the highway and very close to several hotels in St Joseph. Reasonably priced with a good menu of both drinks and food. The deserts are especially cool. If you're in St Joseph's this is the place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great food and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here after eating buffet food for several days at a conference.
This was a wonderful break from the bleak. The prime rib was nice and my wife's bacon wrapped shrimp was very flavorful. The atmosphere was the typical country steak house. The wait staff were all very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my meal. I had the 8oz. flat iron, asparagus, and sweet potato fries. The steak was excellent and thr sweet potato fries were great. The asparagus had good flavor, but was steamed to the point of being soggy. At a restaurant featuring wood-fired grilled items, I assumed the asparagus would be grilled.The rest of my party enjoyed their meals as well. I always stop at Whiskey Creek when traveling, as they consistently serve great meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.