We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family owned restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbosa's Castillo

Barbosa's Castillo
906 Sylvanie St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2743
816-233-4970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 156 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family owned restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Barbosa's started out in the front room of their house many years ago. It was good then, and it's good now. Every out of town visitor we have, we take them to Barbosa's!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the best thing about this place used to be the building”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food is god awful. The place is dirty. This is a run as fast as you can away from it experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The food is mediocre, at best. But the service is friendly and the atmosphere is welcoming. Go for the experience of dining in one of St. Joseph's best-maintained old buildings up on Museum Hill. Barbosa's has a long-standing reputation for consistent food and service. You might just try it to say you've been there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Seriously, this place was HORRIBLE. two people suggested coming here and that it was the best mexican place in town. Me, loving food and mexican.. was totally okay trying it out. I am by no means, picky and hard to please. I got online and read reviews and started to have mixed feelings over it after reading some negative things. BUT we still went, regardless of what we read, considering we did in deed hear great things

First off, I was very disappointed the chips and salsa cost money. well....okay. Yet they were still very great.

I ordered the pick 3. A Taco, Cheese Enchilada and pork tamale.
The taco shell was good, but the meat was so blah.

The cheese enchilada was soooo horrible. The cheese on it tasted like sliced american cheese. I couldn't even finish half of it,

and last, the tamale. It was wrapped in plastic and the meat was dry and seemed to not even be cooked all the way

But the service was in deed good.

my overall experience there wasn't good. I really wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Although my fiance didn't mind his burrito, and the chips and salsa were good. You're better off trying somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have eaten at one or the other of Barbosa's restaurants over the years. My husband and I like the deluxe nachos--large enough to share. This was the 1st trip with the grandchildren. They both got the cheese quesadillas. They declared them very good. Service was good. When our grandson didn't want the sides for his child's selection, the server suggested we get it for someone else in our party. She wanted to make sure we knew that we had to pay for it even if we didn't want it. I appreciated her concern for our money as well as our appetites.
We have toured the building on other trips. For a 1st timer be sure to look around.
Warning: rest rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbosa's Castillo also viewed

 

Been to Barbosa's Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbosa's Castillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.