We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big City Quality for a Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piatto614

Piatto614
614 Francis Street, Saint Joseph, MO
816 273-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 175 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between N. 6th St. and N. 7th St.
Description: Piatto 614 is what happens when a well-traveled Chef sets up shop in St Joe, sheds the corporate expectations, jumps off the culinary high wire, & cooks from the soul. Chef Christian Frangiadis brings the spirit of Italy, some of his grandparent’s Mediterranean culture, as well as a fanaticism for fresh, vibrant flavors to the historic Kirpatrick building.The restaurant, is aptly named. “Piatto”, is the Italian translation for “Plate”. Plate represents everything. What goes on the plate is handcrafted food at an affordable price. What goes on the plate comes from farms, fishermen & ranchers. What goes on the plate represents freshness, deliciousness & integrity. Of course, “614” is important as well. The address is 614 Francis. This is not another cookie cutter Belt restaurant franchise, serving frozen entrees boiled in plastic bags. This is a restaurant that’s down town & proud, situated in Century old building, amongst more than a few other locally owned, independent restaurateurs.Italian food, at its core, is about simple, distinct flavor combinations and most of all, the best ingredients available. Many places slather everything in red sauce & cheese, incorporate the Italian flag colors into their motif, write Italian slogans on their uniforms and play the “Rat pack” on the stereo. Unfortunately, all of that has very little to do with Italy. Piatto 614 chooses to represent Italy on the plate. Pastas will be made from scratch daily, as will breads, sauces, pizza dough, broths, pastries & what will be our only real use for a freezer-gelatos. Piatto 614 is not a special occasion only restaurant. Because of it’s small, skilled staff & commitment to scratch cooking, the kitchen is able to keep prices competitive with the “Boiled bag guys” to create a casual dining experience that is worth a trip down town.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
“Big City Quality for a Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I could not recommend this resteraunt more! The food is incredible whether you are vegetarian, a carnivore, or even someone who does not like typical Italian food.

We started with the goat cheese and eggplant marmalade jar and flatbread. The jars are the perfect size for yummy toppings and there are several to chose from. The bread was fresh and had the perfect texture. I couldn't get enough of them!

I then had the duck pizza. Instead of using Mozzerela cheese, which has no taste, they used Gorgonzola and the flavor was incredible. The cherries added the perfect sweet tang to the flavorful dish. Imam also eerily picky about crusts and this one was perfect, somewhere between a pan and a thin crust with just the right crisp.

The servings are a good size, I took home half of my pizza for today's lunch and my boyfriend had to have half of his linguini boxed as well.

Who would anyone go to Olive Garden again when they could come here to get well-cooked and expertly seasoned food? This is the sort of thing that you,would have to,drive to Kansas City to,get before this place opened.

Eat local... So much better!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Cute place, great service and the food was absolutely amazing, can't express how much we enjoyed our dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Newest of the new Downtown Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

New very fairly priced Italian restaurant. Food is a wonderful change from the typical menu at other Italian places...no cookie cutter here. Just opened a few weeks ago. Great appetizer idea of small sealed mason jars filled with yummy toppings for accompanying homemade flatbread or biscotti. Had the one with goat cheese and an egg plant balsamic marmalade... Trying to figure out how to immigrate this at home. Fare includes some eclectic pizzas, sandwiches and dishes with homemade pastas. Wine list could use some work, and as it gets more well known they may have trouble with sitting enough. Would recommends a reservation on Friday and Saturday night depending on what is happening downtown. Plan to walk a half block or so to park...but it is not a problem. Looks like they are Trying to offer some up scale fare but at very reasonable prices. This place is a keeper

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

So I recently went to one of the apparently best Italian restaurants in New York City. Piatto 614 was MUCH BETTER.

The menu is fantastic. I have never seen 10oz jars of spread for flatbread - great to have something new. The pizza had a unique crust - seemed crispy on the bottom and very nice toppings. Pasta is apparently home made there and was delicious.

We are vegetarian - there seemed to be enough options on the menu to keep us coming back every night for a month!

Dessert - we ordered all three they had made from scratch - the cherry gelato, lemon filled cannoli and creme brûlée. They were all high quality.

My take home message is that we now have an Italian restaurant in downtown St Joseph that measures up to best you would find in any major city on the world! Way to go. Despite just opening they had obviously done some education of the staff as the waiter knew the details and answered our questions; I guess the owner is after "authentic" Italian rather than the stuff you fine at chain Italian restaurants.

It's a small restaurant and I bet it won't be long before it's hard to get into. By the way I could not find a phone number on the web so added it to the review - (816) 273-0024

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious new fresh Italian restauant in downtown St. Joseph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Piatto614 just opened the end of September. My husband and I ate there for lunch on the first day and were impressed and pleased to have such a great addition to the restaurants in town. We ordered the duck tortellini and black linguini and thought we had finally found Italian food to rival that which we enjoyed in Tuscany and Rome! The chef makes all his own pasta and sauces, using local ingredients when he can (he did point out that he did not make his own tortellini or gnocchi). The black linguini had a nice amount of seafood and you could taste the squid, though it did not overpower the other flavors. The duck tortellini was delicious as well, I was glad to find duck on the menu.
The menu is varied and included some surprises - appetizer offerings that are served in a small mason jar! These included almonds roasted in brown butter and sea salt (tasty! We ate the whole jar), white bean spread with savory biscotti, warm olives and flatbread, and goat cheese and eggplant balsamic marmalade. Finally something different in town!
My husband visited a second time later in the week for a business lunch and raved about the lasagna and tagliatelle noodles bolognese. the lunch entrees were priced reasonably for the quality of food we were served - about $10 per entree.
We will happily become frequent diners! The staff was attentive without being bothersome and the chef stopped by to check how we liked our food. He really cared what we thought and took time to explain his new ideas on the menu.
Eat here and help support quality dining in this area! You will be pleased that you did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto614 also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Piatto614? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piatto614, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.