We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites St Joseph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites St Joseph to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3505 N Village Dr, Saint Joseph, MO 64506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel seemed very new; our room was very clean and spacious. It is near many restaurants and close to the interstate making it very convenient. Overall, I was very happy with our stay and I will stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind words. We are more than happy your experience at this hotel was more than satisfactory. We also love the fact we could meet all your needs. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
13
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in 5 different hotels, 3 of them Candlewoods. This was by far the best of the lot. It was in an easy to find location, very clean, with a very helpful staff. I don't think you'll be disappointed in your stay. Just wish Candlewoods served breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
On the behalf of my staff and myself would like to say thank you for your kind words. As an extended stay hotel we take pride in being our guests home away from home. I really love hearing our guests feedback and am overjoyed when we make a positive impact. Customer service is our #1 goal here at the Candlewood Suites St Joseph and with feedback such as yours we can continue our way to being the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a nice Candlewood Suites. I was passing through for business. Usually I would have stayed at the Comfort Suites, but they were renovating. I like the layout of the room, but it was only a queen. I also thought the price was high for not having breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I want to say from everyone here at the Candlewood Suites St Joseph would like to thank you very much for all the kind words. We are overjoyed to know that we were able to make your experience enjoyable. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Upon staying there, I found it was really close to shops, restaurants and the highway. The rooms look like new, the beds are super clean and comfy, bathrooms are modern (I dont like the water softener tho, and have told them for the last two years that it takes me twice the time to rinse clean..makes you feel slimy) but they cant do much about that.
I dont like that the maid only comes in once a week to clean the garbage and make up the bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
On behalf of the staff and myself we would like to thank you for the wonderful words. We love to hear great feedback and we love to know that we met all your needs. Our goal is to make everyone's experience as amazing as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed just one night, on a Saturday night after a long day of antique shopping at a large outdoor venue. I had requested a room on the 4th floor, so we could have relative quiet, but it was not available at check-in, so we were given a 3rd floor room which faces a noisy street. The room was quite lovely, but the walls are so thin that as you walk down the hall by each door, you can hear the television or even the people talking inside. Besides the thin walls, the laminate or wood floors increase the noise volume in the entry/kitchen area. There are no ice machines, no pop machines either. They don't have regular daily maid service and the utensils supplied in the kitchen were literally two forks, two spoons, two knives, etc. and a dishwasher is included so you can wash your own dishes. For a long stay, you'd be running the dishwasher every day. No lotion in the bathroom...things you come to expect at hotels whether they are long-stay, suites, etc. (And no, I don't want to have to ask for basics or buy them from their onsite store). We had to call the night desk clerk at 11:30 p.m. as it sounded like an elephant was dancing above us and our light fixtures were even shaking! I don't understand why anyone would build a new hotel and have it be so poorly constructed that you can hear through the walls to the people talking next door or have to listen to their television (which, by the way is placed in an odd area kitty-corner in the room and is small by our standards). When you lie on the bed, you are looking directly at a framed picture. Unfortunately, there is only one slow elevator in the entire hotel. Workers building new hoels nearby stay at this hotel and spend a lot of their time lounging in the lobby. While we were there, it was always filled with the workers.....no room for anyone else on the couches. At a hotel, I don't want to have to make my own ice in the refrigerator/freezer in the room.....who has time for that? We called downstairs and begged for some ice and we received a small bag of it that they got out of a conference room. Overall, it seems that they are cheap and do only the absolute minimum at this otherwise lovely- looking hotel. The front desk gal was not friendly or courteous.....she would get you an extra towel, etc., but she never smiled or was friendly in any way. This hotel is in a nice area with shops and restaurants right by the interstate. It is probably the best hotel one can find in St. Joe, but I will stay elsewhere once the other new hotels are built. Oh, no free breakfast either. It was like staying at someone else's home where the host hadn't prepared for your visit. We had to ask for ice, eat breakfast at a nearby establishment, and wait for the elevator whenever we left to dine, etc. In the morning the staff that do clean rooms of guests who leave were loudly talking in the hall saying, "there's always something with "these people", this room smells like body odor" and they talked unprofessionally about the guests so loudly that I had to open my door and say, "could you hold it down out there?" and they did then hold their nasty tongues. No tip for those maids! We thought this would be a good stay, but instead it was a lesson in what not to do if we ever build a hotel :o) Does it cost extra to hire friendly and courteous staff? How much is a bottle of lotion? A combination shampoo/conditioner of the lowest quality is supplied which I've never seen in a hotel since the '90s! The room we stayed in was a queen but the bed was so short our feet hung over the end (we are both 5'10") and on the recliner as well, we felt like it was built for hobbits. When in the recline position, if you move your feet, the recliner will shut even though you don't want it to. Bathroom shower/tub is small. So sad that this hotel had such potential but they made so many errors in its design and service omissions. A huge desk area is provided which is excessive, (it is like 10 feet long) in my opinion, a table with four chairs is more necessary for eating and then one wouldn't have to stare at the wall when eating. I prefer a free breakfast, courteous and smiling hospitality-trained staff, ice machines on the floor I'm staying on, more than one elevator, good shampoo, conditioner and lotion, thick, quiet walls, more dishes/utensils, quiet and respectful maids in the morning and a lobby that is not occupied by local workers as if it is their own space--don't they have rooms? I've stayed at many other competitive hotels that are older and have everything one expects in a hotel including breakfast, the basics, and basic hospitality too. So sad, as we were hoping this would be our new place to stay in St. Joe, but if you can't get sleep due to the noise, what is the point? If you have to ask for every minor convenience, it is just not worth it to us.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms, even numbered, to be away from the street noise. Even if they say they will gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are truly sorry for your experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear you were expecting more of a transient hotel rather than our extended stay hotel. Our #1 goal is to make everyone's stay exceptional from check in to check out. its unacceptable to know we couldn't satisfy your every need. If you are every back in this area we would like to do whatever we can to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe,KS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my second stay at this new hotel---quiet. Nice kitchen area if longer stays. Room is spacious...I stayed in King rm which had long desk work area and a sitting chair.. did not feel crowded at all.You are within 5 minutes of numerous dining options and some shopping. Will return here when again in the St. Jospeh area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We would like to take time out and say thanks for these kinds words. We would also like to say thanks for the loyalty to us. Our #1 priority is our customer service and we are pleased to hear we have taken care of you. We hope to make our hotel your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for just one night, but this hotel is one of the nicest we've stayed in... it could have been our home for a week and we would have enjoyed it. Brand new... the room was well equipped and very comfortable - even had a reclining chair!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
ecfackler,

On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you for your comments. As an extended stay hotel we take pride in being our guests home away from home. We also want to make our short term stays feel just as comfortable. I really love hearing our guests feedback and am overjoyed when we make a positive impact. Customer service is our #1 goal here at the Candlewood Suites St Joseph and with feedback such as yours we can continue our way to being the best.

Thanks again,

Travis Perkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites St Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St Joseph

Address: 3505 N Village Dr, Saint Joseph, MO 64506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites St Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-29 at Exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few. We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24-hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24-hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor Gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites St Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites St Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.