We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You, Candlewood Suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites St Joseph

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites St Joseph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3505 N Village Dr, Saint Joseph, MO 64506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Saint Joseph
Yankton, South Dakota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank You, Candlewood Suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here on Thursday night, January 17. This hotel is set up for longer stays, and it's evident they want their guests to be comfortable and happy while there. The one night we stayed there was very nice.

The decor was modern and tasteful, the bathroom was sparkling clean, the beds were comfy and smelled of fresh linens, (yes, even the bedspreads). For those who must stay longer, there was a fully-functional kitchenette in our room, complete with full-sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave, and two-burner cooktop. There are pans and dishes, dish detergent, dish towels, etc.

For anything you might forget, there is a pantry downstairs for your needs. The only snag I hit while staying here was realizing we forgot our toothbrushes. We called down to the front desk to see if they had any and they didn't. When we left and came back, we noticed that there are toothbrushes for guests who need them, but that was mainly our fault for not noticing in the first place.

The room-darkening curtains are wonderful! Heck, I want some for my bedroom. They work very well.

Everything about this property is fresh, clean, and comfortable. I will definitely not only recommend this property to others, but if I need to stay in the area again, I will not hesitate to make reservations here!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, Candlewood! You've gained a new family of customers. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We are so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you from the Team at the St. Joseph Candlewood Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I grabbed a room here to use as a base of operations for black Friday shopping. Location was perfect as we were able to walk to the stores. Rooms were amazing and have very modern decor. Full kitchenette and very large workspace. Also grill for guests in the back. This hotel is new so no wear and tear. Staff was great. This brand caters to business travelers and those who plan to have extended stays. Finally...we were able to get the room at a very good rarefied to their support of military personnel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Kelly,
First and foremost thank you for staying with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for pointing out that our location is beneficial to avid shoppers. We really do want each and every guest to have the best experience no matter the length of stay. We hope you will choose us in the future anytime you are in Saint Joseph. Thanks again for all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have never been to St. Joe and was needing information, directions, etc. There was the nicest gentleman at the front desk. His name was Cody. He gave me all the information I needed, even went out of his way for us. I have never been treated so nice at a business, he treated us like family. Because of you Cody I will never stay at any other place!! The room was clean, great gym and was just overall a nice place. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. If you do get a chance to stay there ask for Cody to help you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
John,
We just want to thank you for your kind words and for choosing us for your stay. Cody, is an exceptional guest services representative and we are truly blessed to have a great staff. Cody exemplifies the type of customer service we strive to provide. We consider all of our guest family no matter how many nights they are staying. We truly enjoy having guest like you and your family. Thank you again for all of the feedback and we can not wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms were very clean, excellent location next store to Fuel Coffee Shop (good coffee & very nice people at the coffee shop).

I travel alot & am a Marriott junkie, I thought my welcome could've been a little more welcoming. I didn't get her name, I came in with my family late, but got a sense that the front desk woman really wasn't interested in making conversation or talking much (ie what brings you to our hotel...etc) It was nice they had my Holiday Inn points already in the system - so thank you. Did an online reservation. They had free coffee that was very good & the kitchenette style was very nice. As I said the rooms were spotless and I couldn't hear my neighbor next door. Very close to shopping for pharmacy stuff (Target next door)

Room Tip: I like high floor rooms, my room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
From all of us here at Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph, I would like to thank you for staying with us. Also, thank you for bringing this issue to our attention it has been looked into and will not happen again. We take customer service very seriously as we want to provide each and every guest with the best customer experience in the hospitality industry. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are in or traveling through Saint Joseph, Missouri. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is my first time to stay in a Candlewood Suites Hotel. It is a little different: no maid service, breakfast buffet, or pool. But the more I thought of it, how much do I really use some of those amenities? It's very nice that they offer free laundry service and being that I was visiting my college student, she loved that! The rooms were ultra nice, very clean, modern decor, and very quiet. Usually it never fails that the heating and cooling unit is so loud that I find it hard to sleep, not so in this establishment. The front desk personnel were very nice and gave us great recommendations on places to dine. I will definitely stay here again in the not so distant future.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got a room on the top floor. If I had neighbors, I never heard them. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
On behalf of the staff here at Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph we would like to thank you for your kind words and key observations about our hotel. We want to provide all of our guests with the very best guest experience. We take pride in our staff and property. I also, just wanted to let you know that we do provide maid service, but it is only once a week to provide our guests more privacy and make them feel as if they are at home. Thanks again for bringing this to my attention and we are very happy that you have chosen us as your preferred hotel. We can not wait for you to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down South in Dixie
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

As stated this property is new, and in great condition. The staff was extremely nice, and helpful. Rooms are spacious, and comfortable. The hotel is in a good location with many restaurants close by. The breakfast was good, with many choices. OMG there is even a Wal-Mart near for all the stuff you forget when on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope next time you are in Saint Joseph that you will stay with us here at the Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is new so it is of course in great condition, but I have to add that the new design is spot on! I have been at several Candlewood Suites over the years and this one is the best ever. The decor is beautiful. The finishes are way beyond what I have come to expect from them. LOVE the huge desk/table/dresser. Space is always a premium for long term stays and this hotel offers plenty of it. The bathrooms are thoughtfully laid out, again plenty of storage.

Front desk clerk was nice and efficient when we checked in. She even reminded us of the housekeeping policy.

There are a ton of restaurants nearby to choose from as well as a Target which has a small grocery department for basics.

My only complaint is the energy management thermostat. I like it really cool when I sleep and that is a challenge with that system.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown for a couple of weeks. This is a huge improvement. I wish we had moved sooner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We here at Candlewood Suites appreciate all feedback as we continue to try to grow. Thank you for your concern with energy management system in each room. We are currently working to fix the issue as we always want our guests to be as comfortable as possible. Thanks again for the kind words and we hope the next time you are in Saint Joseph that you stay with us here at the Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites St Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St Joseph

Address: 3505 N Village Dr, Saint Joseph, MO 64506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites St Joseph 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-29 at Exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few. We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24-hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24-hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor Gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites St Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites St Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.