We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Informative Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Express Museum

Pony Express Museum
914 Penn, Saint Joseph, MO 64503
816-279-5059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 attractions in Saint Joseph
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums, History Museums
Attraction Details
Wayne, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Informative Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I visited the Pony Express Museum on my drive from Omaha, Nebraska to Kansas City, MO. I arrived at the museum late in the day and wanted to still go to a few places, which the staff indicated would be closing early. The staff were extremely friendly and they went out of their way to give me DVDs of the movies they play so I could fit everything in before the various places closed and not miss the video they present upfront. The staff also went out of their way to tell me of a few other places to visit. Their kindness was very much appreciated and something I will always remember. The museum was very informative and the area around Saint Joseph also very interesting. Hope to get back there again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Pony Express 1860 - 1861”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have always been interested in the Pony Express period in our history. Even though it lasted only 19 months it still was such a major accomplishment. This is a museum you will not want to miss. Admission is $5.00 for adults - or $4.00 for seniors 60 or older. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. We first watched the film in the Pony Express Theater that had a lot of good information. It is amazing how the weather affected their route. Then we did the self guiding tour. The museum is in the stables that used to house the horses. Riders were young & thin, 20 or younger and orphans were preferred. The youngest was 11 years old. Each rider was given a bible and had to pledge not to swear, drink or fight. Someday I would like to go to Sacramento and see the "end" of the route. The route was 2000 miles and the riders had to make it in 10 days.

Ask for a list of riders. Check out the gift shop also. They have paper that you can "hand stamp" with the Pony Express logo.

Be sure to visit the Patee House and Museum which is a short walk away. This hotel was the headquarters for the Pony Express. Russell, Majors & Waddell who started the Pony Express had their offices here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wild Ride Explained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The best part of this little museum was the video presentation which explained in excellent detail the way in which the Pony Express operated prior to the arrival of the telegraph line. Also included are numerous displays tracing the route of the riders and how they operated over difficult terrain to move the mail from St. Joe to SFO. Definitely a "must see" for history buffs as well as fans of the Wild West.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Much to my surprise I found this museum really entertaining and informative - I don't really like horses, but I was fascinated by the history and all the exhibits. If it can do that for me, what can it do for someone who does love them! I thought there was plenty to see & touch, and lots to interest children, having a play area especially for them with a schoolroom set up, dressing up clothes for them to try - crayons and raised pictures to make a rubbing out of them, play food and pots & pans etc. Loved the link between one Pony Express rider, and a modern day astronaut who happens to be his great-grandson - how cool is that! I was really taken by that. Plus the fact that it is all housed in the original stables, with the original well in the floor (with working pump nearby) made this a very enjoyable morning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pony Express Museum was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a small museum dedicated to the Pony Express and it's riders. It doesn't take long to step back in history and learn more about these brave young men. It was great fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Express Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pony Express Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Express Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pony Express Museum to your Saves list