We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe needs another chance?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bad Art Bistro

Bad Art Bistro
707 Edmond St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2268
816-749-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bad Art Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 175 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Maybe needs another chance?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I went to Bad Art Bistro after reading the reviews. Have to say not overly impressed. Great patio to sit outside and enjoy the weather but the food left something to be desired. I ordered the tandoori chicken as a meal with the mashed potatoes with spinach and blue cheese. The chicken was raw inside the pieces, so I sent it back to cook longer. When it came back it was still raw so I decided to not try a third time. My potatoes were good but you couldn't taste the cheese and they could've used some seasoning but were okay (especially if you are hungry like I was at this point). I went ahead and ordered dessert, the creme caramel. It was good but the flavor of the Grand Mariner that was advertised was non existent. The service was good even with the food difficulties. I will give it another try in the future but will wait a bit though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Treasure in St Joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just booked a table for eight on a Friday night. I can't say how gracious they were to seat this large a party at the last minute. Food was excellent and the wine list a cut above what was to be expected for St Joe. Definitely a treasure to be supported.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've dropped it a notch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This used to be my favorite restaurant. I love the food, but I have to drop it's score because of the service. Oh, they're nice enough, but we've had some disappointments. Once we reserved a booth and when we arrived there was no booth to be had (isn't there a place where you can take a little note, phone answerer person?). That same evening I placed my salad fork in my salad bowl and the waiter told me I'd need to keep my fork. Seriously? I'm paying $80 for dinner and you don't have a clean fork back there for me? Staff training is needed to bring them up to par with the excellent food here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is fantastic! We have eaten here twice and the food was exceptional both times. The food is prepared fresh and tastes like it. This gem is the type of restaurant you expect on the west coast or in very large cities. The menu is exciting and reflects the cook's French background. They have an impressive wine list also.

I love it! One of my top ten restaurants in the US.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were passing through on our way from Omaha to Kansas City and decided to stop for dinner. Everything we got was absolutely delicious and the service was great! We highly recommend the flat iron steak, it was probably one of the best steaks either of us have ever had. The Osso Bucco was delicious as well! It was a bit on the pricy side for dinner but worth every cent! We will be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Art Bistro also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Bad Art Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bad Art Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.