We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Midwinter Night's Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
809 Hall Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Midwinter Night's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I could tell by just looking through the parlor window as we came up the driveway that this house would be special. We were warmly greeted on our arrival, by Isabelle, who obviously loves her job. She gave us a brief history of the Chateau beginning in the beautiful foyer which was paneled in cherry, with intricately carved wood work.

Each room was charming in its Victorian decor, and themed (ours was Twelfth Night -- the shower was fabulous and the bed was plush, but firm). Original stained glass windows (over 40 in all) graced each room of the house.

A fully equipped kitchen enabled us to continue our journey after a delicious breakfast. The proprietress graciously accommodated dietary restrictions.

Shakespeare Chateau was an attraction to lure us off our usual I-70 or I-80 route to Colorado. It looks like a tradition has been started! The Chateau's high ratings are well deserved.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I was delighted to meet Barry and his wife on their journey to Colorado, and to offer them mid-trip accommodations and a recommendation to eat at one of my favorite local eateries, The Bad Art Bistro. I'm so happy to hear that the stay at the Shakespeare Chateau was enjoyable from start to finish. I look forward to hosting you (maybe in the Romeo & Juliet Suite next time?) on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
99
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shakespeare Chateau on a Friday evening in December. I don't know how we stumbled upon this lovely bed and breakfast, but I am so happy we did. We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet room and from the moment we arrived we knew we were somewhere very special. The owner of the property (Isobel) was incredibly welcoming and made us feel right at home. She gave us a tour and took her time explaining the rich history of the house and went into detail about the many renovations she has done to preserve the home. From her recommendations of places to go in St. Joe to her delicious breakfast made especially for us, we enjoyed every moment of our stay. I especially appreciated that she asked us about dietary restrictions when we arrived -- we are vegetarians and thought it was very thoughtful of her to accommodate us. You can tell she has a passion for this house and for making sure her guests are treated like family. Thanks again, and we hope to be able to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I'm so happy you found me, and that you enjoyed your stay at the Shakespeare Chateau. I love recommending the other businesses in Saint Joseph - The Bad Art Bistro, Piatto 614, Mod Podge, The Lucky Tiger, The Gothic House, The J.C.Wyatt House, and more - and am so pleased that you had a good time here in our town. Thank you for posting your review - my guests tell me again and again that they "found me on TripAdvisor" and reviews like yours help me get the word out. I hope you'll come back and stay with me again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were only in town for one night and I wish we could have extended our stay. The Romeo and Juliet room was beautiful and comfortable. I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts over the years and Shakespeare Chateau by far exceeded my expectations. Isabelle was a wonderful hostess...very knowledgeable about the history of the house and area and eager to provide whatever we needed while we were there. We look forward to an opportunity to stay at the Chateau again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Travelers like yourselves from around the MidWest - Omaha, Des Moines, Topeka, Kansas City, and more - find the Shakespeare Chateau to be a beautiful and relaxing opportunity to take some time away. I'm always delighted to meet people who have never been to Saint Joseph before, and have the chance to introduce this wonderful town. I hope you'll come back to stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband wasn't to keen on staying at a bed and breakfast but now he is telling people about Shakespeare Chateau for a getaway.When we arrived Isobel was there to greet us and give us a tour. The pride and work she has put into restoring the mansion is amazing.We stayed two nights. The first night it was just my husband and I, very nice romantic atmosphere. The second night our 9yr old daughter joined us.She had a great time exploring and is still talking about the stories Isobel told her about the mansion. From the delicious breakfast to the beautiful rooms and gracious host we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I always enjoy showing children around the Shakespeare Chateau, and they always respond so well to the fabulous architecture and interior. Through stories and answers to questions, I hope to engage more young people to learn about the history of this mansion, of the historic Hall Street District, and of Saint Joseph. The future of our historic heritage is in their hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

From the grand house to the lovely hostess our stay was a pleasure. Beds were great and decor sumptuous. Fun interaction with hostess and guests created a festive air. We will go again if anywhere close to the area. Also loved the history of the house as well as the town of St. Joseph.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
My mission here at the Shakespeare Chateau is to re-introduce this fabulous mansion home to the public. Although it was closed for over a decade, I'm thrilled to have successfully re-opened this jewel as a luxury bed-and-breakfast, event venue, wedding mansion, and tour home. Check our website for specials and offers, then give me a call to make your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The workmanship in this place defies the imagination. The woodwork, done in the 1800's is something to behold. If you get an opportunity dont skip the Shakespeare Chateau, probably the best built home I have ever been in. The service was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the Romeo and Juliet room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
The Shakespeare Chateau is, indeed, one of the finest mansions standing - a true American treasure! I am proud to have the opportunity to be custodian of this house, and to give people a chance to visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Shakespeare Chateau in October 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. Usually my wife is more interested in bed and breakfast places than me. But, this place was great. I have been recommending it to my friends and would like to visit again myself. Every detail of the experience was perfect. The owner is providing a wonderful service by sharing her mansion, history, and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am so pleased to hear from guests like Bill, guests who are pleasantly surprised with their visit to the Shakespeare Chateau. We offer exceptional service and comfort to our overnight guests, as well as superb event hosting for weddings, dinners, company parties, business meetings, baby or wedding showers, and more. Call me today to book your weekend away or celebratory gathering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Address: 809 Hall Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.