We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Greenstay Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 North Outer Road, Saint James, MO 65559 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of a family reunion. Nice facility and hardworking staff. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet despite being on a major interstate truck route. Ice machine was broken but the staff walked upstairs to bring us some from another machine. Very nice lobby and indoor pool area. Best of all was the location right next to McDonald's and near great restaurants as well as the winery. Breakfast was okay, but could have used some fresh fruit. There was no coffee one morning and the staff member apologized --said she hadn't had the chance to make some yet. She promptly made some, which was soon ready. All in all, it was a nice (not fancy) place to stay and a good value.

Room Tip: First floor in the back was quiet. We called well in advance and got rooms close to each other. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and the kind words you expressed about our facility. We have the ice machine fixed. now. We do put extra effort into meeting the needs of our guests and we hope you will come again soon. Have safe travels. AWynn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Greenstay Hotel! We had booked over the phone for our trip there for a wedding and upon arrival found our room was ready early at no extra cost and we were able to check in early and let the kids swim for awhile before we had to start getting ready. The room was very nice and clean, the beds comfortable and it was really quiet! The breakfast was nothing fancy but better than most continental breakfasts and the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive! We will definitely stay again should we find ourselves back in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I wanted to thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you found clean comfortable, and enjoyable recreation at the hotel. We do try to accommodate most any need and will do the same the next time you come to visit. Again, thank you for responding with a your review. AWynn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Last minute stay. The young lady at the front desk was very nice and polite. We had a dog with us and they were very accommodating. The condition of the hotel was pretty good. The fixtures were newer. The beds were comfortable and clean. There were two drawbacks the coffee pot didn't work but there was coffee in the breakfast bar. The bathroom door wouldn't close completely but overall it was a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the kind words and we hope to be able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay the next time you pass through. Here's hoping for you to have safe travels and looking forward to seeing you again.

AWynn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Not a lot of choices in St. James, but the Greenstay is a decent hotel for a good price. Rooms were a little tight but clean and all the common areas were in good shape. There is a nightly wine tasting through the week of from a local vineyard, we didn't do the tasting but bought a bottle which surprisingly wasn't marked up to hotel prices. The indoor pool was heated, although could have been a few degrees warmer.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank your for your review and we hope you will stay again the next time you are in our area. Looking forward to your next stay.

AWynn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughters & I like to book a room at a local hotel just to swim & getaway every once in awhile. Over the years, we've stayed in all but maybe 1 or 2 places in our home town. Greenstay Hotel & Suites is the ONLY hotel I've even WANTED to swim at. Of course my daughters beg me to swim with them each and everytime, & I've done so. However, it takes me forever to work up the nerve to just "TAKE THE PLUNGE!" Hotels always claim to have heated indoor pools but I've never felt any of them were even close to being heated......until we stayed at Greenstay. Not only did I swim with them the very night we checked in but the next morning as well. We had a great time & WILL MOST DEFINITELY GO BACK! Three things that make us want to return to Greenstay Hotel & Suites, 1) HEATED pool 2) EXTREMELY Friendly staff & 3) can't beat $63!!!!! If you decide to stay here, I hope you have as good of a time as we did! Who knows, we may even see ya there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind endorsement of our Hotel. Our staff sincerely appreciates our guests and it is always our desire to offer the best of accommodations and amenities for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The staff here was great. They helped me with a reservation over the phone and gave us a great rate for 2 rooms. They let us check in early so that we could fish and stay at the park as late as possible. The beds slept great and the rooms were warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to provide a comfortable place to stay and relax after a long day of business or fishing! We hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

*Door extremely hard to open from inside of room. Fire hazard.
*Poor/no wifi connection for our entire stay.
*Sulfur (rotten egg) smell in rooms (switched rooms but odor present in second room also); from water sitting in pipes.
*No "do not disturb" sign; staff in our room when we did not want them there. Finally left a sign when we asked.
*Dogs barking nonstop in another guest's room for 30 minutes until front desk called.
*We stayed for three nights. Beds made but sink, tub, toilet not cleaned; floor not vacuumed.
*Bring your own soap because their soap is only as thick as a dime.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWynn72, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I want to thank you for your comments. If not for hearing from our guests we have no way of knowing that your stay was not up to par. I sincerely apologize for the situations you listed. We did have drain line that had been clogged and definitely contributed to the odor you mentioned. It has since been repaired. We have upgraded all of our in room amenities to assure our guests satisfaction. Hopefully we now have a much better trained housekeeping staff to meet your needs and I am certain that the other concerns have been taken care of. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with now exceptional care at the Greenstay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenstay Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Address: 110 North Outer Road, Saint James, MO 65559 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint James
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenstay Hotel & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Greenstay Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Saint James
Days Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge Saint James
Saint James Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenstay Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.