We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Warm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast

Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint James
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1127 South Jefferson, Saint James, MO 65559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint James B&B and Inns
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed this stay tremendously. We loved being able to completely relax and feel comfortable in the sitting room late evening, as well as being able to choose the breakfast time! Beautifully clean! We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast with great conversation and hospitality. Twin fawn nibbled on the lawn as we ate breakfast!

Room Tip: Lots of collections throughout the house so perhaps not a place for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at The Pained Lady during the 4th of July weekend. It is a beautiful house and the rooms are very clean. The owners are friendly and helpful when planning activities. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty to eat. Definitely a great place to stay if you are in the St. James area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent our anniversary here in October after another B&B fell through. We called late at night, scrambling to find someplace, and the owners were more than accommodating. We spent a lovely weekend in their private cottage (separate from the other rooms), and loved every minute of it. Giant jacuzzi, king size bed, private porch, nice and quiet. Very clean, very comfortable, couldn't ask for more. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved the private cottage out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were tickled to find a B&B that offered a first floor room for my elderly parents, while my husband and I took a comfy room on the second floor. It was pleasant sitting on the back deck in the evening overlooking a wooded area. We felt right at home in the living area while my dad played the piano for awhile, and breakfast was pretty tasty!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed with another couple while spending the day riding motorcycles in the area. We did not make reservations and were winging it when we saw the Painted Lady B&B. We called and they had 2 rooms available. We were quite pleased they took us late in the day and were very happy with the accommodations and with our hosts. Very nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

This was a great weekend getaway. The house is huge (you can see it on [---]) and looks like it might be an old Victorian, but it was actually built in the 1990s, so it have fun things like a jacuzzi bath tub, separate shower - everything is planned out for guests. There is a great deck on the back that overlooks woods, and my husband and I just sat on the back deck that night enjoying a cold beverage and warm conversation. The bedroom is heavily Victorian, which my husband wasn't crazy about, but good luck finding a B&B in Missouri that's not Victorian or covered in antiques.

Breakfast was great - very hearty, and the couple that runs the place was very nice. All around a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1127 South Jefferson, Saint James, MO 65559
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint James
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.