We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so sorry to see it go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marge's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marge's
S Meramec St, Saint James, MO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Saint James
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“so sorry to see it go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went to eat lunch at Marge's and try one of the cheese burgers and found out that Marge's is no longer in St. James. We checked back on Tripadvisor and found out that Marge passed away and the restaurant is closed. That explains why we couldn't find the place. So sorry to have missed Marge's and we wish her family all the best. We went into Rolla and ate at the Tator Patch. You might want to try their place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marge has passed away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Marge passed away in late August. Her daughter continued to keep the restaurant open until the middle of September. We were able to eat there one time before the closing and the food was good. Marge had taught her daughter well. The restaurant is now closed. We will miss Marge and the food she prepared.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marge's has moved to St. James, MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Marge's has moved to St James, MO. She is located on Meramec near the downtown area. The food is still great and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, Missouri
1 review
“Hugeeee Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I went to Marge's and ordered a Cheeseburger with Fries. I expected to have an average sized burger like you would find at McDonald's, but Noooo...they come out with a burger weighing close to a pound and some of the best fries I've ever had. I believe it only cost $4 too. The Cheeseburger wasn't dry, it was very juicy and well cooked. I'll be stopping my Marge's every time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Biggest Cheese Burger For One of The Smallest Cafes on Route 66”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Marge's is great. You get a feeling of what it was like traveling route 66 and dining out at the little greasy spoon. I swear she uses close to a pound of ground beef to construct one of her mammoth cheeseburgers. Come hungry if you want to finish this juicy monster.

If you are attempting the true old route 66 experience, Marge's will definitely take you back in time when service, and home made food was widely available and didnt cost an arm and a leg.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marge's also viewed

 

Been to Marge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.