We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Lodging to your Saves list
Budget Lodging
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   866 S Outer Rd W, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than we expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chosen because of high ratings. Did not disappoint. On Hillside with beautiful sunset view. Great price and excellent accommodations. Friendly and efficient staff. Very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stop here when traveling to vist our family in Texas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
50
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My hubby and i ecided to leave early for our vacation and want to thank those who might have liked to keep Budget Lodging a secret but didn't.

The motel was easy to find, check-in was quick and the parking well lit and safe. This was a nice building with breakfast and meeting rooms... Not typical of what I would expect when parking outside my door.

When we entered our room it smelled faintly of perfume and the decor was nice but dated. It kind of made me feel like I was at my moms, and that was nice. Everything in the room was immaculate and in good condition. The bed was awesome and the shower great. The employees were very friendly, spoke English and were probably related. Breakfast was so-so, but there were other places nearby to grab something on the go. The value was exceptional.

If you do not believe in God, keep driving. There were reminders of The Lord scattered throughout the room and common areas. I found it comforting, but others may not.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Family run motel/inn in good location, very clean. Exceptionally friendly staff who know their history and are eager to make your stay comfortable. Good bed and lots of hot water. Check out the water towers which are labeled hot and cold for a joke. Also Merrimac Caverns are a must see in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for our breed national specialty being held at Purina Farms. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The rooms were reasonably sized and clean. Best of all there were multiple grassy areas for taking the dogs out. Breakfast was warm and ready each day. After scoping out the other options in the area, i would absolutely recommend this facility over the others!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was a little leary about staying here between the name and the fact it was a small, locally owned motel, but I was pleasantly suprised.

Pros: Very clean, nice and helpful staff, very quiet, ample parking, coffee/tea/hot chocolate free in the lobby

Cons: The TVs are very small and dated, rooms have actual keys (not swipe cards) which concerned me for safety

They offer an average breakfast in the morning - waffles, bagels, cereal, etc. There are fast food restaurants nearby -Subway, McDonalds, and Burger King, as well as a couple of gas stations, but that is about it. They are very pet friendly and there is ample grassy areas to walk dogs. The area seemed generally safe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quiet and away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great hotel!! We were in the area for a dog show and based on the reviews decided to stay here! I am so glad we did and don't think we would stay anywhere else now! It has lots of areas to walk dogs. The room was VERY clean and also SUPER quiet!! Very nice breakfast! Staff was very polite and friendly!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back and we didn't hear a sound! Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm almost reluctant to post a review (sort of like keeping a favorite restaurant a secret so it doesn't get overcrowded), but Budget Lodging was a wonderful "find". The staff was welcoming and courteous, the room was clean, the price was excellent. The breakfast was very good. The television was rather small and dated, but otherwise no complaints about the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Address: 866 S Outer Rd W, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.