We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrealistically great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Zumbehl Road, Saint Charles, MO 63303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unrealistically great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I've stayed in hotels around the world, and I was shocked to see how this general manager made it his goal to exceed all expectations. The rooms were somewhat small, but very clean and comfortable. A lot of personal touch is put into this staff. After returning to our room the first day we found a hand written letter from the cleaning staff. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
18
17
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was here for a short stay and this is a very average hotel. The rooms, as you can tell, are much like studio apartments/efficiencies which is nice especially if one is to need a place to stay for a longer period of time because of the little kitchen with the fridge, microwave, oven, etc. I do not recommend putting more than 2 people to a room, there is just not enough space to get around comfortably. The TV is not a flat screen, it is an older style "box" tv that really does take up a lot of room in the limited space. The "queen" bed did not feel like a queen, it seemed to be that of a modified "full" size mattress, with a couple extra inches and we were overall very uncomfortable on it. The one really good thing about the stay was the towels, they were very plush and felt great! The housekeeping staff was very pleasant and accommodating as well.

A few side notes: to echo the other reviews, this place is very difficult to find because it is hidden behind a medical building that was probably built after the hotel was built. Marriott should really re-think their signage to help guests find the location better. There is a LOT of shopping and restaurants in the area and I think the location is very ideal in that respect. This is also a pet friendly hotel ($75 addtl charge, I believe). The wifi worked great too! Plenty of parking and a small outdoor pool is also available for use.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This location is hard to find, thank goodness Marriott emailed additional directions. The location is good if you need access to I-70. The hotel was clean and suited our needs for visiting relatives in the area. The bed in the main room listed to the side that most people sleep on. Rooms were a little noisy, we could hear neighboring doors when they were slammed shut. Televisions were dated and had basic cable. The internet connection was very good. Air conditioning worked fine and was controlled by a thermostat on the wall. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from entrances. We heard people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

First thing, call for directions to the facility! No signage that can be seen from any street. My GPS said “You have arrived at your destination” and I was in front of a restaurant and a grocery store no hotel in site. After driving around for 20 minutes and just taking driveways around where the GPS said it was, I finally found it. It was behind a restaurant, again no signage. The only reason I found it was because I had seen a picture of it on their website and matched the picture with the building. I am a platinum rewards member of Marriott and this was my first stay at this flavor of a Marriott family. Spring Hill Suites. Suites?? It did have a kitchen with cooktop, fridge, microwave and equipment to cook in but, it was all just one smaller then normal room. I would not call this a suite. Clean room, good heater/AC and friendly staff. Do not expect a nice hot breakfast. They roll out a little cart with cold cereal and pastries. I personally like a hot breakfast so I went to Bob Evans. It is located in a nice area but very hard to find.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

With one family member living in St. Louis, and another visiting in-laws in Perrysburg, MO, we decided on a post-Christmas gathering in St. Louis. The TownePlace had a 2-bedroom suite, perfect for out-of-town families, with a small kitchen, living area, dining table, small bedroom (that needs a second nightstand and reading lamp), a larger bedroom with room for the smallest visitor's Pack-and-Play crib provided by the hotel, and a generous well-designed bath (that could use a few more towel racks). This would be a great choice to share space for other family events like weddings (or funerals, alas) or reunions.

Warning: despite GPS, the TownePlace is *very* hard to find, not easily visible from the road, being located in the back corner of a mall (turn in at the Schnuck's sign, look far to your right).

The housekeeping was excellent, and the reception staff was great, providing the crib and recommending a restaurant in downtown St. Charles that we all enjoyed. We'll stay at the TownePlace when we visit again, in a small half-suite next time, and when the weather is better for strolling the quaint main street of St. Charles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night in October 2012. Having stayed at many Marriott properties around the world, and several times at TownePlace Suites in other areas, this property compared very unfavorably. It's old and needs renovation. Furnishings are tattered and torn. My friends and I rented two rooms; theirs was under a set of stairs and they were kept awake all night by the noise of people going up & down. In my room I could hear someone coughing all night. There are plenty of other places to stay in St. Charles, and I would never return to this property. Upside: front-desk staff was very nice & helpful. It seemed clean but hard to be sure because everything was so dingy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Unfortunately, I left this hotel saying 'Live and learn'.

I stay at hotels quite often and decided to try a different hotel in the area. I usually stay with a Hilton brands, but decided to spice it up and go Marriott this time. Please note I'm writing this review with little to know experience at other Towneplace Suites.

I did think this would be a step up from the Fairfield, but I think its a step down.
The rooms seemed clean, but dated. The breakfast was available, but no place to sit... when they say "Grab and Go"... they emphasize the GO the part. The walls and stairs creaked something awful... don't get a room close to the stairs unless you want to know anytime someone is coming or going. The walls are also super thin. I could hear the TV in the room next to mine, but the person I was traveling with swore they was a goat in the room next door. It was an ongoing joke for the week we were there determine what time 'goatboy' would go to bed at night. The laundry room left something to be desired... I did a small load and had to dry it twice.

On the positive side, its cheap ($89//nt) and the staff was friendly. Needless to say, I won't be returning to this hotel. I'll likely go back to the Hampton Inn across the highway.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the stairs... they creak and you can hear anyone coming or going
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles

Address: 1800 Zumbehl Road, Saint Charles, MO 63303
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Louis St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Towneplace Suites Saint Charles
Saint Charles Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites St. Louis St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.