We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooked style food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant

Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant
1881 Sherman Dr, Saint Charles, MO 63303-3966
+1 636-946-0266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 197 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant is a family-friendly restaurant that serves your favorite comfort food around the clock. We're open 24 hours every day!
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Cooked style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a diner style restaurant, but the food is excellent and it is open 24 hours. We actually ordered whole pies from here for a family celebration because the pies are so good! (we were not disappointed!)
Although many come here for breakfast, I am not a breakfast fan so I have sampled quite a bit of the menu and found almost everything to be tasty. My dad ordered the 1 lb whole catfish and was amazed. It came straight from the fryer. Hot and with a light, crispy cormeal coating. He left nothing but bones. My sister in law says their sausage gravy is the best she has ever had. Needless to say- you should give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe_Lover823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
217 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Isn't the customer right?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gingham's is one of our family favorites, though we usually have breakfast here on the weekend. This visit was during the week, which may account for what occurred.
When our food arrived, the waitress handed the wrong plate to three of us. My two brothers switched their plates and laughed it off. My mother had something that she didn't order. She pointed this out but the waitress began arguing with her that she HAD ordered what was on that plate. We also told the waitress that our mom had ordered something else, but the waitress was adamant, insisting that Mom had ordered 'B1'. (We checked the menu and couldn't find that breakfast listed). It wasn't until the manager came over that we were able to convey the concept that however the mistake occurred, the correct food needed to be brought to the table so that my mom could eat it.
This could be a training issue, but it did affect our enjoyment of our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kocickasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It's usually packed on Sunday's. But it's worth the 15 min wait time . Food quality is excellent. A little but pricy. But portions are fair and service is good.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yazrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popular Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The management of Gingham's strives to take excellent care of their customers. The Over 60 Group is especially fond of this restaurant because Seniors are offered special deals each week. Want some home style cooking? Go to Gingham's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSPITLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles,Mo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are traveling in St. Charles,Mo area you can not go wrong! It is open 24 hrs.The menu selection is large.Service is good.The quality is good. They offer senior citizen discounts of 10%.
20% on Monday and Tuesday Free entertainment the last Monday of the month from 11:30 Am to 1:30 Pm with a 20% discount during that time. voted by the locals as BEST BREAKFAST. Has a large loyal following.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbell63303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing