We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Restaurant, Delightful Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine - CLOSED

The Vine
325 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
636-946-8463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant, Delightful Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had the pleasure to enjoy dinner with a friend at The Vine. We arrived early and were seated at a cozy table by the fireplace. I had a great house salad, really enjoyed their dressing. I chose Bouillabaisse for my entree. It was wonderful. Not sure it would be enough to fill a hungry person, but perfect for me. My friend enjoyed Pasta Alla Puttanesca.
There are many great restaurants on Main, add this to your list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Couples dinner spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found this quaint, intimate restaurant during a spring trip to the St. Louis area. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. Although the menu is small, it is quite varied and interesting. We did not find the portions too small, but rather reasonable so we were satisfied.
We visited during a cool weather period, but this would be a find for lunch or dinner in nice warmer weather visiting the town of St. Charles for shopping, dining, or sightseeing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fine Wine and Dine Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went with a group of 8. We were seated right away in a neat garden area out back. The food is fine with a french quisine theme. Smaller portions like you would have with french dining. Its a quieter place that allows you to have a conversation and relax.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have always had great meals here and they have even accomodated a large group of 16 for me before. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A small, quaint eatery...wonderful food and excellent service. The chicken offering my wife really enjoyed. I had the boullibase and it was actually the best I have eaten. Desserts were outstanding and a great wine list is your interested. Though a small menu...you will not be disappointed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.