We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average stay in St. Charles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn and Suites St Charles to your Saves list
Country Inn and Suites St Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Above average stay in St. Charles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a few nights. Location is great, main street is lovely walkable.
Hotel is above average (pretty new building), but a few remarks should be made:
- Airco was not working at night. We woke up at night because it was too hot in the room.
- Breakfast was fine, but for example they don't keep the mild cold with ice, warm milk is not that great. Plates have dents and start to age a bit.
- TV is great, HDTV on a lot of channels and good size.
- Carpet was clean. a rare thing these days.
- Pool was great, but water is salt. No showers at the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    110
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
110
101
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was very clean! This was a great location and priced fair. The rooms were clean and had nice fresh bedding. The Pantene shampoo & conditioner was nice for a change. The breakfast was great! You had a choice of oatmeal in a large crock, eggs, bacon, french toast, cereals, muffins, bagels and coffee and juices. Wonderful! The hallways are large and spacious. We stayed on the 3rd floor. Nice and quiet!! We were walking distance to all the sights. Very convenient!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I love Saint Charles, Missouri and have stayed there many times. We always enjoy staying at the Country Inn and Suites, though we don't stay there every time. But, for people like us who are far more interested in history than gaming, this hotel is perfect for walking to the historic shops and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is good. The indoor pool and off-street parking are nice features also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to be able to walk down to historic St. Charles for shopping or restaurants. Also very close to bike path and park near river if you run/walk. Overall hotel is kept up nicely. We stayed in a third floor room overlooking street. Room was very clean and we didn't have any problems with noise coming from the street. (Yeah, they could have cleaned the stairwells on either end of the halls a little better, but most people probably aren't hanging out there too much anyways.) Front lobby area has a nice lounge area and beautiful wood staircase going up to 2nd floor. Pool and whirlpool were nice and kept clean. Staff was super pleasant and helpful. They had fresh baked cookies and coffee in the lobby all day. Free breakfast was nice with many choices (eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereals, fruits, waffles, breads/bagels, donuts, etc.) Only cons were that there was only one elevator and it ran kind of slowly. Also breakfast room could get kind of crowded. Overall a nice play to stay.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed location and the amenities the area has to offer. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The facility seemed to have a downward path. The check in experience was good, and the lobby presents a nice historic elegance. The cookies at the desk are a good amenity. I think the hotel has either just changed some staff or reduced them, as there seemed to be a need to improve the hospitality presence. I had reported a couple of problems to the desk, and was surprised at the subdued response. I did not even get an inquiry to see if the issues were corrected. I had expected more. Of course that caused me to get more observant.

The service had to get an average rating, even though there were individuals that were outstanding. The location is great for an event in the historic St Charles area, but not ideal if you have business elsewhere.

I had a problem with the room (maid) servicing the first day, (i arrived the night before) which I did not discover till the next morning. The coffee wasn't serviced, so the pot had the trailing's of the day before coffee, But more importantly there was no coffee packet to make any fresh. I then noticed that the towels and mat used the day before had been removed, but not replaced.

I brought this to the attention of the morning desk clerk and hopped it would be corrected . I was relieved to see the coffee and shower mat was there that evening. I just had not expected to see the coffee filter pack on the floor behind the door. (looks like some missed the cart as they pitched it across the room. see pics) Just glad this person was not making my food. The room servicing issue that I reported (on two separate days) seems more an under-staffing issue, over a lack of training issue. Either way the rates charged did not come close to the value it should have brought.

I had also pointed out a maintenance item with the stairway door from the garage. The maintenance issue reported (a simple fix with a screw on the stairway door lock plate) was never addressed;

The rate was about $100.00 per night. I don't care what the comps in the area are, if your asking that rate, I feel the hotel needs to live up to that rate.

Room Tip: The third floor was great for the view, and lack of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central KY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed mid August '13. I honestly don't have 1 complaint. We requested "riverside" & were accommodated. We couldn't see the river but at least were not streetside. Comfortable room, frig, microwave, Pantene products. Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning & taking care of our linens. We found b'fast to be just fine. Keep in mind I have 2 teen boys. The menu changed slightly every morning but always included: cooked oatmeal (w/ add-ins like choc chips, br sugar, raisins), 4 cereals, 3 juices, coffee, pastries, Eng muffins, bagels(w/ pb, crm cheese), waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits. Plenty for our mornings. The staff at front desk were always friendly & helpful. I would def stay here again. It is within walking distance from the quaint shops of downtown St Chas. The pool & hot tub were clean, warm. Pool area was clean, freshly painted, plenty of towels. fun!

Room Tip: I was told that riverside is more peaceful than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn during Festival of the Little Hills. Location is good, room was clean but the stair corridor from the parking deck to the hotel needs lots of attention. Carpet either needs to be replaced or thoroughly cleaned. Don't think it was vacuumed the whole weekend. Elevator also was dirty. Had to let the breakfast staff know that the coffee was empty both in the breakfast room and the lobby.

Room Tip: Elevator is really slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn and Suites St Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Address: 1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn and Suites St Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn and Suites St Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites St Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.