We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the potential to be a good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Save Saved
You added Country Inn and Suites St Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites St Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Saint Charles
northern california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be a good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The facility seemed to have a downward path. The check in experience was good, and the lobby presents a nice historic elegance. The cookies at the desk are a good amenity. I think the hotel has either just changed some staff or reduced them, as there seemed to be a need to improve the hospitality presence. I had reported a couple of problems to the desk, and was surprised at the subdued response. I did not even get an inquiry to see if the issues were corrected. I had expected more. Of course that caused me to get more observant.

The service had to get an average rating, even though there were individuals that were outstanding. The location is great for an event in the historic St Charles area, but not ideal if you have business elsewhere.

I had a problem with the room (maid) servicing the first day, (i arrived the night before) which I did not discover till the next morning. The coffee wasn't serviced, so the pot had the trailing's of the day before coffee, But more importantly there was no coffee packet to make any fresh. I then noticed that the towels and mat used the day before had been removed, but not replaced.

I brought this to the attention of the morning desk clerk and hopped it would be corrected . I was relieved to see the coffee and shower mat was there that evening. I just had not expected to see the coffee filter pack on the floor behind the door. (looks like some missed the cart as they pitched it across the room. see pics) Just glad this person was not making my food. The room servicing issue that I reported (on two separate days) seems more an under-staffing issue, over a lack of training issue. Either way the rates charged did not come close to the value it should have brought.

I had also pointed out a maintenance item with the stairway door from the garage. The maintenance issue reported (a simple fix with a screw on the stairway door lock plate) was never addressed;

The rate was about $100.00 per night. I don't care what the comps in the area are, if your asking that rate, I feel the hotel needs to live up to that rate.

Room Tip: The third floor was great for the view, and lack of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    75
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
79
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central KY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed mid August '13. I honestly don't have 1 complaint. We requested "riverside" & were accommodated. We couldn't see the river but at least were not streetside. Comfortable room, frig, microwave, Pantene products. Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning & taking care of our linens. We found b'fast to be just fine. Keep in mind I have 2 teen boys. The menu changed slightly every morning but always included: cooked oatmeal (w/ add-ins like choc chips, br sugar, raisins), 4 cereals, 3 juices, coffee, pastries, Eng muffins, bagels(w/ pb, crm cheese), waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits. Plenty for our mornings. The staff at front desk were always friendly & helpful. I would def stay here again. It is within walking distance from the quaint shops of downtown St Chas. The pool & hot tub were clean, warm. Pool area was clean, freshly painted, plenty of towels. fun!

Room Tip: I was told that riverside is more peaceful than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn during Festival of the Little Hills. Location is good, room was clean but the stair corridor from the parking deck to the hotel needs lots of attention. Carpet either needs to be replaced or thoroughly cleaned. Don't think it was vacuumed the whole weekend. Elevator also was dirty. Had to let the breakfast staff know that the coffee was empty both in the breakfast room and the lobby.

Room Tip: Elevator is really slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is like so many others -- very clean, comfortable rooms, but with a disappointing breakfast buffet. The location is perfect, right at one end of the Historic Main Street district in St. Charles. This is a relatively new property, and easily accessible. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Motor vehicle parking is underneath the hotel, out of the weather. Our room was very nice, the bed quite comfortable, with exceptional down pillows. The plumbing in the hotel was a little noisy. Our main complaint was the breakfast buffet, not so much the food, which was very ordinary, but the dining room was unexpectedly crowded, and the staff was unable to keep up with the demand -- many of the selections were depleted, and guests were lined up trying to assemble breakfasts with what was available. Friends of ours who accompanied us on this trip complained of noise emanating from rooms adjoining theirs. On balance, we can recommend this hotel because there are no others in this location, and as hotels go this one is better than many, but plan on eating somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a combination business/pleasure; had stayed in St. Charles at another hotel a few years ago but wanted to be downtown near a particular restaurant. Wayne was a great host, room tops, breakfast varied, fresh and good. Stayed at 2 other chains later in the week and they didn't even come close. Building blends beautifully into the ambiance of the city; quiet, lovely comfortable room. Would have liked to stay longer but........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a few days in St. Louis and decided to spend a day in St. Charles before going home. I have been to St. Charles several times and always enjoy the shops and restaurants that the quaint little town has to offer. We just needed a place for one night and the Country Inn & Suites was perfect for that. The location is great because you can walk to everything downtown. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and there is plenty of parking, as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, or to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I chose this location because it is directly on Main Street, the heart of the St. Charles shopping area that boasts many specialty shops and dining options. I could not have been happier. We arrived well before check-in time, but Wayne at the front desk promised us a room as soon a possible. We wandered over to the BBQ place next door for lunch. When we returned, sure enough, we had a room. The room was spacious with a king size bed, loveseat and desk. A refrigerator/microwave unit are also in the room. Nice high ceilings gave the room more airiness. The bed was fine, but as always when I travel, I am glad to return to my own. The comforter was too heavy and warm, but a nice cotton blanket was available in the closet to use. A variety of pillows are on the bed and in the closet to choose from. The bathroom has a nice large counter that allows two people to spread out their toiletries. A night light on the hair dryer was a nice touch. The air conditioning was great to come back to after a very hot day out. Being central air, it was nice and quiet. Breakfast was standard fare. Cookies and coffee were available throughout the day. Ample parking is available as we were there Sunday through Tuesday. There is an enclosed area and two outside areas to choose from. We used the small pool and hot tub. The hot tub was the only real disappointment of the trip. After a long day of walking around, I wanted a hot soak badly. The hot tub was anything but hot. We'll call it a warm tub. It was not what I needed. The lobby area was nice, with a fireplace and a small honor library. I like this Country Inns and Suites touch and have used it many times in the past.

The hotel is located within walking distance to many things. A great variety of shops and restaurants line the street for about twelve blocks. The gas lit street is charming and quaint. The casino is located nearby, and we walked there. There is a bit where there is no sidewalk, so it was more of a challenge. We also walked to Bass Pro Shop. It was a hike up Boone's Lick Trail, which in of itself was interesting. There are many points of historical interest throughout the are. The Kady Trail is located on the back side of the hotel and was nice for a morning stroll or bike ride (bike rentals are available nearby).

I would recommend this hotel for any traveler to lovely St. Charles, Mo. The location, the nice staff and the comfort of the hotel made it perfect for our getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn and Suites St Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Address: 1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn and Suites St Charles 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn and Suites St Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites St Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.