We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel for five-day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel for five-day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family was staying in the St.Charles area and I found the Country Inn through Priceline. I originally planned to stay four nights but extended my stay another night. The Country Inn is a new hotel. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable, though a little noise came through the communicating walls. The front desk staff was helpful, and the room cleaning was reliable, even when I left the room after noon. The pool, hot tub, and exercise room are centrally-located. The hotel is right off I-70, which was helpful when I had to return to the airport through a blizzard. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities offered. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    130
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
142
121
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from a trip to St. Louis. I decided to stay outside of the city, and this hotel was an excellent choice. The outside is beautiful and the inside matches up. The lobby was clean and very welcoming. We had a one bedroom suite, which was perfect for us. There was plenty of room and the room was well maintained. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The pillows were a little soft, but that's just a personal preference.
A hot breakfast is a must when I book a hotel and this one was delicious. The menu didn't vary too much each day, but there was enough of a selection that you could eat something different for a few days. Our first day the lady working in the room was having a little difficulty keeping up, not her fault. It was very busy, and she maybe could have used an extra person to help her out. She was, however, very friendly and even helped my son and daughter both with their breakfasts.
One of my reasons for staying out of St. Louis was the lack of parking and this hotel had plenty. There is a garage below the hotel to keep cars out of the elements. There isn't a ton of space under there, but there is plenty of other parking.
The only slight blemish on this hotel was the pool. It looks like it could use a little TLC. There is rust along the walls and on the pilars. That being said, the water was the perfect temperature, and there were always plenty of towels. The pool is still very nice, and this would not stop me from coming back to this hotel.
Overall, our experience at this hotel was exceptional. Everyone who worked there, from the front desk to housekeeping was very friendly.
If you are looking for a place just outside of St. Louis, this is a great choice. It's located in a great area, right along the river. It's right off I-70 and an easy drive to St. Louis. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the pool and breakfast. We will be painting our pool area this year to address the items you mentioned. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to St Charles.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Best staff ever. Charming hotel, clean, comfortable beds. Had a small problem with a sleeper sofa for our daughter, and it was not only taken care of immediately, they gave us a discount for that night. Loved our room with windows you could really open, and lean out of, to watch people passing along cobblestoned main street.

The fabulous breakfast lady (long dark hair in a pony tail gal) was a star. I've never seen anyone take as much care of people gobbling down a free breakfast. She was on her toes every minute serving up great food, helping people with the waffle machine, toaster, chaffing dish etc., all while cheerfully greeting sleep crabby guests. If I had a restaurant I'd steal her in a flash.

I really enjoyed this place. I guess I've been in better hotels overall (shower water took a while to heat up, air conditioner had a slight rattle, (easily fixed by stuffing a plastic bag into one vent), but the staff here, including Lance and Lisa at the front desk...well, you can't beat great staff. They make a place worthwhile, when you're travel tired and bone beaten. I'd definitely not only stay here again but highly recommend it to anyone. In fact...I stayed in a perfect hotel recently but didn't bother to leave a review...I'm making the effort to leave this one because I loved it so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about Lisa, Lance and Sherry. I will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We look forward to your next visit.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose the hotel for its price and location. While its located on the far south side of historic main, we could still walk to the opposite end easily. The room was clean and quiet. Plenty Of pillows.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the street. Even number face parking lot and river behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location on Main St. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was pleasently surprised when we walked into the beautiful foyer and checked into the hotel. Our 2 day stay was excellent; the rooms were clean and fresh-beds were comfortable-entire hotel was quiet despite good occupancy. Best of all Main Street has numerous bars and restaurants and stores to keep anyone busy. The complimentary breakfast was quite good with a good selection of items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and our great location on historic Main St. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenup, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed one night. Pool was good temperature. Bed was comfortable. Carpet was clean,bathroom clean Staff was polite and courteous. Breakfast was great. Warm eggs, bacon, potatoes, cream of wheat, cereal, and many more to offer. No complaints here. Price was good too. And close to lots of shopping centres.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. As before, the staff was friendly and informative. Large, clean rooms. Located at the beginning of the historic area of St. Charles, you can walk out the door and enjoy numerous restaurants and stores. If you enjoy running or cycling there is a causeway behind the hotel that is safe, well lit and provided miles of scenery during a run, walk or bike ride.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel from your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and easy access to the Katy Trail. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to St Charles.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO

Address: 1190 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, MO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.