We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in historic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Save Saved
You added Country Inn and Suites St Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites St Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Saint Charles
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in historic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. As before, the staff was friendly and informative. Large, clean rooms. Located at the beginning of the historic area of St. Charles, you can walk out the door and enjoy numerous restaurants and stores. If you enjoy running or cycling there is a causeway behind the hotel that is safe, well lit and provided miles of scenery during a run, walk or bike ride.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel from your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and easy access to the Katy Trail. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to St Charles.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just had a three day meeting for 14 people at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles, MO. The meeting room was a nice size for a small group. The sleeping rooms were very nice and we enjoyed a complimentary hot breakfast every morning. They had complimentary coffee, tea, fruit and granola bars in the lobby all day. It is close enough to the St Louis airport however there is no shuttle so if you are not able to pick up your out of town guests, there are cabs available. It is on a street with many restaurants, a microbrewery restaurant and a winery/restaurant. Also, a casino is just around the corner if you have any free time. The staff were extremely helpful and I hope to have our next meeting there when we meet in the St. Louis area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and and the atmosphere of Main St. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice place, staff friendly, rooms clean, little dated....actually the only thing that bothered me was the dark comforter thing on the bed. I prefer washable sheets on both sides of whatever blankets these days. Pretty commonly found.

Parking was under the hotel, out of the weather, and appreciated. Breakfast is one of the more complete with an attendant & most items available. Eggs, waffles, cereals hot & cold, etc.

The big thing about this hotel was location. It's just down from the St Charles Main Street historical District with enough shops & restaurants to make for at least a nice afternoon & evening...weather permitting. It was too cold to get out, but we drove the area & will probably come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just left the Country Inn and Suites in St. Charles today 01-29-13 after a weeks stay. Took my son back to Lindenwood University and decided to make a small vacation for my daughter and I. What a fabulous place to stay, the location is amazing. Walk out the front door and step on to a brick street which in one short block you are on the historical Main Street. Our room was huge. The beds were so cozy and very very clean. The staff was wonderful especially my personal favorite was Lance at the front desk (felt like I knew him for ever) incredibly friendly just loved him. Every night after a long day of touring my daughter and I took a swim and hung out in the jacuzzi , perfect way to unwind from a long day. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, from scrambled eggs, bacon and homefries to bagels and oatmeal, fresh fruit and waffles! It was all included with your stay....I would give this hotel a perfect 10!! Could not find any flaws....Perfect place to stay for all you LU parents, it's right around the corner!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel amenities and Main St. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Lance. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites January 25-27, 2013.
We've never stayed at a County Inn and Suites before, but decided to stay here because of the location. It was close enough that we could walk to all the historic sites of St. Charles and to the Ameristar Casino.
The hotel was nice. The room was large and had a nice sitting area wit a couch and chair. The television swiveled so you could watch from the bed or the sitting area. The shower pressure was not very good in our room (109), but our friends commented that the pressure in their room (111) would take your skin off. There are no vent fans in the bathrooms, so the room gets very steamy.
The indoor pool was nice, not too cold for being winter, but there was something on the bottom that looked like some doo doo may have leaked out of a diaper. I didn't notice right away, but got out as soon as I did notice. I didn't tell the management about my find.
The breakfast on Saturday was good and had a good selection. Bacon, scrambled eggs, lots of pastries, pancakes, self made waffles, fruit, yogurt with blueberrys and other add-ins, fruit juices, and all the usual breakfast items. The lady working the room was pleasant and kept everything filled. The breakfast on Sunday was bad. I blame the Sunday breakfast more on the lady running the room. The eggs were kind of like poached, but were way over cooked, unflavorful, and rubbery. The bacon was okay, and there were hashbrowns. No pancakes, but stiil had the waffles. Everything was continually running out. I had gone down at 8:00am to get some orange juice, but it had run out. Then an hour later, when we went down for breakfast, still no orange juice. When I asked the lady about the orange juice, she rolled her eyes and gave an exasperated gasp. Later, while I was getting some milk, she reached across in front of me to get a cup with out so much as an excuse me. Like I said, everything would run out as groups of guests would arrive. We'd look for the lady back in the prep room, but she was nowhere to be found. We found that she was out front smoking, texting and drinking a Mountain Dew. In the hour we spent in the breakfast room, three times we found the lady out front taking a smoke break while there were guests with no food.
Overall we'd stay here again just for the location. The pool could be cleaner and I'd fire the Sunday breakfast lady. For the most part it was a nice stay and a great location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an even number. Even numbered rooms face the river as opposed to the street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our breakfast staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we will use your comments to improve upon the service we provide to valued guests such as yourself.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Why stay at a ho hum property when you can stay at a hotel in a historical setting....complete with a brick street in front. Great hospitality, excellent rooms and really wide hallways. very nice ! This wonderful historical downtown is a must see.

Room Tip: some rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our historical Main Street setting. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Actually the second time I stayed here, but did not review first time and since it was because of my great first visit that I thought of them again, I wanted to share my experience.
Very friendly and efficient staff. The property itself is very clean and well maintained. This time I used the exercise room. It is small, but the bicycle, elliptical and two treadmills are modern and in great shape. It overlooks the pool so you can either watch TV or the poolside activity. I like the fact that they had a cooler of water and towels available in the room as a nice extra touch.
The location is great, you can walk down to historical Old St Charles for shopping and/or dining and we stayed Dec. 30th so all the Christmas lights and decorations were still up, so just strolling along the cobblestone street was nice.
They always have fresh cookies and coffee available in the lobby. The free breakfast is a step above many others I have had at comparably rated hotels and has something for everyone.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St Charles, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn and Suites St Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites St Charles

Address: 1190 S Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn and Suites St Charles 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Country Inn and Suites St Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites St Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.