We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel right next to the old town and main street of St. Charles.
Hotel is old-ish and decorated in country style.
Breakfast ok, staff friendly and helpful.
Stayed twice here and enjoued both times. Easy to go to St. Louis by car, 20 minutes.
Right next to big Ameristar vasino, if you want to get rid of your money :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    142
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
152
143
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights while dropping off our son at Lindenwood University. Immediately it felt like home. "No problem" was the attitude of the staff. This hotel is in walking distance to the historic district. This particular Country Inn is at the high end of the chain. I particularly enjoyed having access to laundry facilities and free computer with printer. We did not partake of the pool or fitness center. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with fridge and microwave. I would highly recommend this for a several night stay. Breakfast was diverse enough so as not to get "old". Everything from toast and fruit, to make-your-own waffles, to eggs and bacon. I will admit, the quality of food was only mediocre. Overall, I can't find fault with this hotel and I will certainly return when I next visit St. Charles!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've pricelined this hotel twice for random overnight trips with my daughter. The first time was in May and this last time was Aug. I was super-happy in May, great room, wonderful staff, easy parking, and the walk through historic St Charles is perfect. This past visit there was road consteuction infront of the hotel making it difficult to get to and they were working on the road at 3am. I didnt sleep one bit. The front desk staff saw priceline had booked me for a smoking room and after discovering that I didnt smoke moved me to a nonsmoking room. That was awesome! This place is wonderful but avoid it until toad construction is over if you want any sleep:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very close to beautiful historic district. Free breakfast, so hard to complain, but just OK. Halls were extremely noisy the week we stayed and not much was done about it. No sleep till after 1:30 am was common.

Indoor pool and whirlpool were nice to have after a day of walking. Food along Main was great. Wish they had outdoor seating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We hope that upon your return to St Charles you will give us the oppurtunity to make up for your less than perfect stay.
Again we would like to express our apologies and our hope that you will return.

With highest regards,

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites, St Charles Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Country Inn and Suites in St Charles, Missouri is the best place to stay in St Charles if you are looking to stay in the Historic District. We have stayed five times, always during the Christmas season. It is only two blocks to the beginning of the Historic Downtown and built in keeping with the historic brick style of the old shops and homes. No better way to see the entire downtown area than to be able to walk from your hotel.

The decor of the hotel is upscale but the price is a good value. The rooms are unusually large, very clean and the bedding is very comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get rooms 201/ 202 or 301/ 302 you will have a side window which looks out on the brick paved streetscape and a partial vuiew of the river. Quite pleasing during the Holiday's when the whole of St Charles is decorated with lights.

During the Holiday's wine and cheese and chocolates are served from 4-6 P.M. The breakfast ( in the room price) is substantial offering home made waffles and usually a nice choice of donuts. The staff has always been extremely helpfull but, we have found rooms by the pool to be a noisy, especially when the hotel has a lot of children. The only bad thing about this hotel is the outside elevator. Built on the outside wall of the building, it can be very cold in the winter, not a good thing if you are returning to your room from the pool.

Room Tip: Book early for a holiday trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here several diffrent times. we enjoy the area it very clean and nice. the hotel has a nice breakfest offered with several selections. The first time we stayed was my wifes birthday and we had a room with a jucuzzi and had problems with it. they did there best to repair it but could not. They charged us for the night but gave us the room for half price and another free nights stay for the jucuzzi room. We have been back four more times.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this Country Inn because of some of the reviews I had read about the hotel and the price was reasonable compared to some of the hotels in St. Charles. We were pleasantly surprised by the caring staff and the breakfast was actually pretty good. The hotel clerk was very friendly and told us all about the services such as the breakfast, pool and fitness room. The rooms were nice, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet during the night. The hotel is only a block from the downtown area and all the shops and restaurants which was absolutely wonderful...about five blocks of really old world shops, boutiques and neat outdoor patio restaurants. The only drawback was that the city was repaving the street in front of the hotel so it was pretty dusty and we had to go around all the construction. But after the pavers are all installed it will definitely be a great addition to the area. We will stay here again when we are in St. Charles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - St. Charles
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Address: 1190 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.