We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping the hole in the wall tradition alive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Edwards Chicken

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
King Edwards Chicken
1201 S Duchesne Dr, Saint Charles, MO 63301-4839
636-946-3660
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 226 restaurants in Saint Charles
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Keeping the hole in the wall tradition alive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My initial reason for stopping here was the cigar store downstairs. We were driving through from Boston to L.A. so obviously didn't know any good food spots. The woman at the cigar shop told us to go upstairs to the "chicken place" and it did not disappoint. The fried chicken was absolutely delicious and the red rice was phenomenal. LIke the title says, it doesn't look like much from outside but it sure does deliver.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think this is the best fried chicken in the St. Louis area. It's a little difficult to find but well worth the effort.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great carryout fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Longtime standard for fried chicken in St. Charles. Tasty and the price is right. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding chicken and sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We always get take out, so I can't really rate the atmosphere of King Edwards. The take out orders are always ready when we walk in, well packed, and stay warm for the drive home.

What I can rate is the outstanding, incredible, awesome chicken. It is crispy, juicy, and well spiced. The portions are just right. The quality is always consistently high. I can't recall a single 'dud' piece of chicken ever coming from King Edwards.

Unlike some chicken places, the fish is also high quality. There is also a pretty extensive appetizer / side dish menu. Most of it is deep fried. All of it is 'finger licking' good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles
1 review
“Better than finger lickin good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

This has to be the ABSOLUTE BEST chicken I have ever had!! OMG I wanted to lick the box...you simply MUST have the fried green beans with ranch!! There's just nothing like it and the prices are awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Edwards Chicken also viewed

 
Saint Charles, MO
Saint Charles, MO
 

Been to King Edwards Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edwards Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.