We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful date night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Cellar Fondue

Stone Cellar Fondue
524 S. Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
636-493-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 224 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Swiss
Description: Stone Cellar Fondue...because it's more than a meal...it's a moment.
Restaurant details
Description: Stone Cellar Fondue...because it's more than a meal...it's a moment.
Linn, Missouri
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Celebrated our anniversary recently with dinner at the Stone Cellar. Atomsphere is perfect for a date night. Even though it's a smaller restaurant, there is plenty of privacy between tables due to the curtains that are hanging. Service was excellent and the meal was delicious. Defintely will be recommending to others! Will have to say though that the location was a bit hard to find and when we asked a local shop for directions they were not even for sure where it was located once they looked on the map. I think that is because this is truly in a cellar and their sign only comes up once they are opened for business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FUNdue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went down to St. Charles for the weekend and enjoy a ride on the Katy Trail. Found this FUN fondue restaurant. Intiment setting (only 6 tables, reservation is a good idea). Great service and menu selection. We learned so much from this experience. They brought as many wine samples as you wanted to select the paring with the food. We talked to many locals who didn't know where this place was or anything about it. We heard from the waitress that they've been there 1.5 years. Approximate price entree $17 per person, desert $12 per person plus a bottle of wine. Hope to go again, soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very cozy place. Fun for a date or special night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was going out with a few friends to celebrate my best friend's 3rd baby. We wanted to do something special, out of the ordinary, but nothing too big or expensive. The 9pm Happy Hour at the Stone Cellar was absolutely what we were looking for. For $10/pp we got an appetizer and dessert fondue to share. It was so cozy and fancy, and the service was really great. It made the evening very special. The food was delicious and they make the fondue right in front of you. The only thing I would have wanted was more bread or things to dip in the fondue. They give you lots of the good stuff, but not really enough dippers to finish it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best place in STL so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found this through tripadvisor last night, made reservations for that night. WOW Its small, but that makes it so lovely! Its got so much character, perfect date night place. The cheese fondue was AWESOME! Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We dined with friends and spent almost 3 hours eating enjoying wine and conversing. I could not think of another restaurant that I would be that comfortable spending the time and money at and enjoying it so fully. We will be back time and agin with more friends..

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Cellar Fondue also viewed

 

Been to Stone Cellar Fondue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Cellar Fondue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.