We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Fifth Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we entered the hotel, we were extremely pleased with the appearance and service of the hotel. The room was very quiet and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations. Your business is important to us and we thank you for making us your lodging choice. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
82
62
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a planning trip for our move to the area while we looked for a house and worked. The room wasn't as clean as we would have liked and we had some problems with the A/C unit. The maintenance worker asked my wife what she wanted him to do to fix the A/C unit, I wouldn't have been as nice as she was, but we brought the problem to the attention of the front desk and the manager and they got right on top of the problem and made it right for us. Ed Sosa, the manager couldn't have been better to deal with. He didn't make excuses for his staff but compensated us more than we expected. Kudos to him!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the compliments to our management and our front desk staff. It is always nice to hear good things from our guests. We will work to resolve the issues you had and provide a better experience in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best beds ever, very comfortable. All the staff was most helpful and made every effort to make our stay pleasant and stress free. The breakfast was always hot and plentiful, a great plus with four adults and four children in our party! We intend to make this trip at least once a year and this hotel will be on the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay with us. We work very hard to make every guest's stay excellent. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for spring break vacation for 4 nights. We did majority of our sight seeing in St Louis but did enjoy a few things in St Charles. The hotel was nice, staff were always friendly. We had a two room suite, spacious, beds were comfortable. Just a few things that were minor inconveniences:
- there is a $2 per night fee for the safe, however they are already in the room whether you want it or not. We did ask about it since we never used it and they removed the charge
- the house keeping staff never replenished our shampoo, lotions, soaps. I had to go to the front desk, they were always friendly about giving me more
- the breakfast was nice, staff very helpful & busy keeping everything stocked, but the menu never changed (one day there was sausage instead of bacon) and they ran out of several items by the end of our stay

I would stay again as it was convenient and priced right for a little getaway for the family.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We value all guest feedback and we will use your comments to help us improve. We work hard to make each guest experience a great one and am sorry if we were not able to do that for you. I hope you will give us additional opportunities to give you a better experience in the future because we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located about 3 blocks for Ameristar Casino and historic St Charles. I would not recommend walking due to heavy traffic on the streets that have to be crossed. Room was clean and quiet. Staff was professional. We did not eat breakfast due to leaving for an early flight. Hotel is about 10 minute drive to airport (non rush hour). No problems.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to make every stay a great one for our guests. I'm happy to hear that we were able to do that for you. We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located close (3 blocks) to the historic St. Charles area and the large Ameristar Casino, however due to traffic I do not recommend walking. Parking was free. Due to an early flight we did not eat breakfast. Staff were professional and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. No problems.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Suburbs, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was off about this hotel from how hard it was to reach from the highway, to where the front desk was located to the strange layout in the lobby.We had a strange feeling instead of a warm and welcoming feeling upon entering. The rooms and price are average. There are much more desirerable hotels in the area. My advise, pick another.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We did just complete a hotel renovation at the end of 2013 and we work very hard to maintain a good hotel image. I would like another opportunity to win your business back. If there is something we can do that would make a better impression on you please feel free to contact me directly at 636-946-6936.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Address: 1425 South Fifth Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.