We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location near Katy Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Fifth Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location near Katy Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a nice stay here and the people could not have been nicer to us. We were especially pleased that the manager allowed friends who rode in on their bikes to store the bikes overnight in a meeting room. The only reason any of us came was to ride the Katy Trail and we have a lot invested in our bikes, so a hotel that understands that and helps out is definitely a PLUS in our book. The facility was nice and clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was with our room keys as they were having ongoing problems with the encoding equipment. Hope that's fixed by now. The manager, Tom Mezines was very helpful to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience. We love our Katy Trail riders and are working on adding other amenities such as a bike washing station to help our riders have a truly unique and pleasurable experience.

We did look into our key encoder issue and it looks like we have found a solution. I apologize for any inconvenience the key issues may have caused during your stay.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    66
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
38
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Best Western Plus was a nice surprise for an unplanned stop on our way to Kansas City. It has a nice, contemporary lobby which is accessible from two separate parking areas. The pool and hot tub is maintained very well, and was clean and tidy. There is a 24 hour business center with computers and printers and there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms as well. The rooms are in good shape, clean, decorated nicely. The bathroom is large, updated with a corner vanity with a granite counter. The towels are laid on the shelf below the sink, similar to what is done in boutique hotels.
Breakfast is full service with cereal, eggs, waffles, pastries, and more. The food was delicious. the hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant.We will stay here again on our next trip. It is a perfect halfway point from Chicago to Kansas City or Lawrence Kansas, home of the University of Kansas, our final destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us and our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We hope to see you again on your next trip through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recommend Best Western in St Charles, is well located , very close to the downtown, Lambert and the main highways. Im very satistfied with the service, people, rooms, and the price was excellent price compared against other hotels in the zone. I will choice it for future travels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to comment on your experience with us. I'm glad you found our service to be great and I hope we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Room was excellent - internet SLOW. convenient location to the school we were there for, shopping, dining, gas. The breakfast ok - no change day to day - always the same fare. The Front desk very helpful, but room cleaning a little off. Easy access to freeway (express way)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm disappointed we weren't able to achive a 5 out of 5 with you and I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would love if you would contact me at the hotel directly at 636-946-6936 or by email at mgaler@bridgetonholdings.com so I can get some specifics about your stay and take a look at the internet access point near the room and also so I can coach the housekeeper who was responsible for cleaning your room during your stay.

Now that our renovations are complete we are looking hard at our breakfast offering and what we can offer for additional options as we know that people who stay multiple nights would like to see different food options each morning and we are working to offer that for our guests.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to talk with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped by after a concert just for the night and were very pleasantly surprised. Great hotel. Recently remodeled. Great décor. Clean and spacious rooms. Right across from casino and half a minute from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our new product and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again if your travels bring you back through Saint Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A recent family visit to St Charles, Mo, was made especially nice by the staff regarding the recommendations & directions that they shared with us and the local maps that they provided. The extra deep pool was appreciated by all the swimmers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and that you got to enjoy our pool. We are proud to have the largest and deepest pool in the area at 12 feet deep on the deep end. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great hotel, recently updated, well appointed rooms, attentive staff, delicious full breakfast. We stayed here while attending a trade show at the nearby St. Charles Convention Center. It was re-branded as a "Best Western Plus" three days before we arrived. Great experience. Easy to get to. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so glad to hear you were pleased with the property and I hope we get to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Address: 1425 South Fifth Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.