We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis & Clark Center

Lewis & Clark Center
701 Riverside Drive, Saint Charles, MO 63301
636-947-3199
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the journey of explorers Lewis & Clark.
Everett, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a nice little museum with a very nice gift shop. The selection and prices were very good. They have done a nice job with the museum, albiet small. Kids will definately enjoy it.

It is right on the Missouri river at the point where Lewis and Clark began their journey West.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It is very unique building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a fun great gift shop, was cheaper then most, but the museum wasnt much there so we didnt see it because we didnt want to waste the 5 dollars a person for nothing. But have to walk behind, beautiful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic replecation of the expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum is a must see to immerse yourself as if you were part of the expedition. The museum is setup with replicas of the expedition in a timeline manner with many real life artifacts. There is also a movie that is narrated as entries from Lewis and Clarks journals from the expedition. The Center is located on the banks of the Missouri River. There are several man made dug out canoes on display that have been a part of the discovery expedition.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, MO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We were a little disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop in Historic St. Charles. We were a little disappointed. We went up to the gift shop to see about the museum and they didn't even speak or see if we wanted to go inside. The cost was $5 for adults, I am not sure it would have been worth that anyway. But they could have said, "Hi" or "welcome", but nothing. :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Worth a side trip for anyone visiting this historic town. A nice little museum packed with information and staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgeable people. One of the staff we spoke with participated in a reenactment of the full journey and had lots of stories and interesting tidbits to share. Don't miss the movie describing this amazing journey and be sure to visit the full-sized replicate boats downstairs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis & Clark Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis & Clark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis & Clark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.