We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very unique building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center

Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center
1050 S Riverside Dr, Saint Charles, MO 63301
636-947-3199
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the journey of explorers Lewis & Clark.
Park Hills, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is very unique building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a fun great gift shop, was cheaper then most, but the museum wasnt much there so we didnt see it because we didnt want to waste the 5 dollars a person for nothing. But have to walk behind, beautiful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic replecation of the expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum is a must see to immerse yourself as if you were part of the expedition. The museum is setup with replicas of the expedition in a timeline manner with many real life artifacts. There is also a movie that is narrated as entries from Lewis and Clarks journals from the expedition. The Center is located on the banks of the Missouri River. There are several man made dug out canoes on display that have been a part of the discovery expedition.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, MO
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We were a little disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop in Historic St. Charles. We were a little disappointed. We went up to the gift shop to see about the museum and they didn't even speak or see if we wanted to go inside. The cost was $5 for adults, I am not sure it would have been worth that anyway. But they could have said, "Hi" or "welcome", but nothing. :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Worth a side trip for anyone visiting this historic town. A nice little museum packed with information and staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgeable people. One of the staff we spoke with participated in a reenactment of the full journey and had lots of stories and interesting tidbits to share. Don't miss the movie describing this amazing journey and be sure to visit the full-sized replicate boats downstairs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Level Contributor
182 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“SO informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family really enjoyed visiting here during Christmas. There are so many artifacts and lots of information about the Lewis and Clark expedition. The book selection is pretty extensive.

If you're a history lover, you have to check this out. I think it would be an excellent place for a field trip.. maybe for 6th grade and older? This really isn't for small children.

The museum costs a little to see everything but there's plenty to see for free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.