We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3098 Elm Point Industrial Drive, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Saint Charles
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here on a short vacation with the family. What a great place! WE actually stayed in one of the Kids suite rooms and our boys loved it. They had their own little part of the room with bunk beds! Wi-fi was great. Rooms were always very clean. Breakfasts were great for the whole family. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and information. We would definitely recommend this for anyone passing through or staying for a while. St. Charles had lots of city parks, three of which were water parks with big slides and play areas. So...great city, great hotel. There is a set of train tracks behind the hotel, but the trains pass by with NO AIR HORNS! Good stuff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
13
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights so I got the feel of the place a little better than usual. I was checked in quickly and assigned a room with two queen beds as requested. The room was NOT a suite but did have a fridge and microwave. It was on the third floor. I did have a nice flat screen TV. The AC unit was controlled on the wall and cooled the room yet it still felt humid. What became apparent is that there are two negatives with this hotel, and they are the one elevator that moves very slowly and is shared with the staff, and the oddities in the bathroom.

The breakfasts were typical HI property types, with sausage, biscuits, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and bacon making the rotation. The signature rolls were there as well as cereal, yogurt, fruit (usually bananas and apples), milk and tiny muffins. The juice machine was working well.

The pool is a salt water pool. Please note this as it is unusual. It ranged from about 3' to 5' deep and is rather modest. No spa/whirlpool, just the indoor pool. The exercise room has one elliptical, one treadmill, one nautilus and a flat screen. All the equipment worked well. Although there was a place for towels the staff didn't put any in the exercise room, but there were plenty in the pool room. There was no water or sanitary wipes in the exercise room. There is a business center but I didn't use it; the wireless internet worked well.

The bathroom oddities are: The fixture for the sink also holds the towels. There is no towel rack either in the shower or above the commode, so you have to drip drip drip across the floor to get a towel or plan ahead. My wife calls this "something a man designed." The shower head is so high even the late Manute Bol would have to reach up to adjust it. Water pressure was poor. The sink had an approximate 1/8" travel for the drain plug. It all functioned but was a bit out of place in such a new property. Apparently they expect a lot of basketball players to stay here.

The location is a bit off the beaten path. All the businesses are on Elm Point Road and this place is set back a bit from the road. It's by a Shell/Circle K station, sort of. Currently soda is $1.25 in the hotel and $1.60 in the Shell station, just sayin' you are better off a the hotel (plus it is a Coke machine). There is a Loco's nearby, check it out as they have a good menu and excellent lemon pepper wings. Also there is a McDonald's nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed here recently for a high school graduation and could not have been more pleased. Large, well-appointed rooms, comfortable beds and lots of pillows. Bathrooms were very nice, staff was friendly and breakfast buffet was better than most.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip to St Charles, Missouri last November and I must say that I was delighted with the service that this hotel offered. Normally, a Holiday Inn hotel would not stand out among the rest of other hotels in terms of service but my experience with this hotel proved me wrong. The manager in charge was excellent. She was a charming lady, friendly, professional and made me at home ( considering that I travelled all the way from Manila to the USA ). I will remember this hotel because of that.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Sometimes in travel when you stay at the places in our standard price range. $75-$125 you have some real hits and misses. This was a hit all the way. New property. Great room with flat screen television. Nice gift back for Holiday Inn members. Staff was first class. My room was super clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Good continental breakfast. Although they need to do something different with those eggs, just leave them alone! While I was eating breakfast, manager came up to me and asked where I was headed that day and if I needed directions. I wanted to confirm the address so he took the info and went and ran a Mapquest for me to all of our appointments. The property is nice, it is in an area that's developing so the surrounding landscape is quite barren. I read some complaints on train noise, I was on the front of the hotel, associate was on the back, neither of us heard a thing. Easy access to highway which was nice. Several food places nearby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, MO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This is a really nice property and has an exceptional hot breakfast. The down side is the location. The front of the hotel faces a busy highway, the back of the hotel faces train tracks. The trains run ALL NIGHT LONG. Don't say at this property if you want to sleep at night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We got a great price here, I think partially b/c it's so new not everyone know it's there!

Quick trip into the city, and was way, way nicer than the places in Fairview just east of the city. Just opened a few months ago, and was very clean and had a good style about it.

They have a salt water pool, which was neat, and not huge but you could swim a mini-lap in it and it was a good temp- not too warm nor freezing.

Breakfast was standard, nothing special, but edible.

It's very quiet with not a ton of people staying there, a little less full of life than average, we had to ask to turn on lights in the lobby/breakfast area which had the doors closed during the day, but they had no problem with our using it once we did. Fitness space was small but sufficient.

Only issues we had is desk/table is more setup for a leisurely meal than computer work, so we hit the lobby for that. Our climate control didn't work, but probably just a 1 room problem and we didn't notice until we were settled in so that one's on us.

Overall a few minor design issues, but a nice, new hotel and a way better spot to be than Fairview if you're looking to be near the city w/o paying downtown prices.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles

Address: 3098 Elm Point Industrial Drive, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see the newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in St. Charles, MO. Great central location for all of your traveling needs. Everyone will enjoy local attractions like the historic downtown St. Charles, The UMB Bank Pavilion Concert Series, and the St. Charles Convention Center. Just a few miles down I-370 are St. Louis Mills Mall, filled with shopping, restaurants, indoor ice skating, glow in the dark golf, bowling, theatre & mini grand prix. While you're here go visit great places like the famous St. Louis Arch, City Museum, Busch Stadium, and the St. Louis Zoo. Nearby the hotel there is the Ameristar and Hollywood Casino, Bass Pro Shop, Cabella's, and Mid Rivers Mall. We pulled out all the stops when it came to comfort and design for our guests. When you enter our glorious; two stories lobby you will see directly in front is a wonderful built in aquarium full of beautiful fish. While enjoying our Hotel in St. Charles Missouri, take advantage of all the great amenities like indoor heated pool, fitness center, and our fabulous Express Start hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.